Thursday, 12 October 2017
The name means "the heath where broom grows". The manor was an extensive estate, with farms, orchards and woodland. In 1845 the Ecclesiastical Commissioners sold it to Coles Child, a wealthy businessman who modernised the farm and main house. In 1870 his son, sold some of the land to builders and developers
Bromley High Street
The town developed around the market place and the London to Hastings turnpike with coaching inns an important part of the local economy. Until the railway opened in 1858 it was a country town with a single street with houses and shops leading to the Market Square.
Methodist chapel. This was set up by the second group of Methodists locally, originally in Market Square/Upper High Street and later in the Lower High Street building a church here in 1874. The church was demolished in 1964 to allow for construction of The Glades. A stone war memorial was in the church from 1922, and which was moved to a new Methodist church in 1965, but could not go to College Road in 1990, and was lost. This has now been recreated and was dedicated in 2011. Behind the church were a school and a Sunday school.
72-76 Metro Bank. This is on the site of Bromley House, which was an 18th house a demolished in the 1930s. The door case and portico were saved
The Glades. This is a shopping Mall opened in 1991 with 135 shops and designed by Chapman Taylor and Partners. It includes 42,000 square metres of shopping floor space, parking spaces and twenty flats, designed as upper and lower malls which take advantage of the sloping site to give direct access via Elmfield Road and White Hart Slip, and Widmore Road, and through existing shops into the High Street. Car parking is generally above the shopping levels, although there are spaces below The Pavilion leisure centre. . It is partly owned by the London Borough of Bromley. It was called The Glades following a local competition but was for a while rebranded as Intu. It was extended in 2006.
92-102 Ravensfell Parade. This is on the site of Ravensfell house built after 1858. The shops form the 1920s-30s are on what was the extensive front garden of the house
Russell & Bromley. This shoe shop occupies Ravensfell House which
102 Russell and Bromley. The rear is part of Ravensfell House, rebuilt in 1858.
Aberdeen Buildings. This is a terrace of 8 shops which was built for Amos Borer in the French Empire style built 1887-9.
111 Barclays Bank occupies Tweed Cottage, Barclays Bank Tweed Cottage, Tweed Cottage, a late 18th house formerly the home of Thomas Dewey later Alderman Dewey, Mayor of Bromley, Baronet and local dignitary. The house marks the southern boundary of the pre- Victorian town, it being open land from here on.
117 Burger King. This is on the site of Importers Coffee House, an 18th town house with a 1930s mahogany panelled coffee house included. It was demolished in 1987
Bromley Central Library. The original library was built by Bromley Council on land left to the Borough by Emily Dowling of Neelgheries. The original library was built in 1906 funded by the Carnegie Foundation. It was demolished in 1969 and reopened by Prince Charles with the theatre in 1977. It was designed by Deputy Borough Architect Ken Wilson.
Churchill Theatre. This is on the site of Neelgherries and Church House Gardens. .it was designed by Aneurin John, Borough Architect 1970 and opened by Prince Charles in July 1977. It runs a programme of plays and events with auditorium for nearly 800. There is a shop and a restaurant overlooking a landscaped garden.
Neelgherries. This was a house standing on the land now covered by the Churchill Theatre and the library. It was owned by. Emily Dowling who it to Bromley Council in 1900, for use as an "institution or establishment for the public benefit". In the 1850s George Sparkes moved here. In 1865 her married Emily Carpenter daughter of a local gamekeeper. Neelgherries was then numbered at 16 High Street and named after the hills of Nilgiris in Madras where Sparkes had worked as a judge for the East India Company. He died in 1878, leaving everything to Emily who then remarried a Mr, Dowling and she eventually left it to the borough
Stream. A stream runs under the library, and legend says it that it was cursed by a gypsy not to interfere with its course. It had to be diverted for the library
123 Marks & Spencer. Four of the bays here were built by Marks & Spencer in 1904 on the site of Redwood House. The rest was added in the 1950s.
128 Hotters Shoes. This is the last remaining 18th building left since the massive demolitions in the 1970s & 80s.
145 Top Shop/ JD Sports. This is in a 1964 brutalist building by Owen Luder which replaced the White Hart Coaching Inn
White Hart Inn. This dated from 1509. It was extended in 1803 as a posting house with stabling for 100 horses and also assembly rooms where political and parochial meetings, concerts and lectures were held until the opening of the town hall in Market Square in 1863. The White Hart was demolished in 1964 and replaced by a Littlewood store
Fire Engine Station. Shown at the rear of the White Hart in the 1890s
The Lyric Theatre opened here in 1899 – the number given as 111 -, built over a swimming bath (which was apparently never used). It showed films from 1908 along with live shows. In 1909 it re-opened as the Grand Hall Cinema but closed in 1911; re-opening in 1914 owned by W.F. Jury. In 1924 it was taken over by Living Picture Palaces Ltd` and was re-named Grand Theatre. Seats were punt in the old baths and it continued to show films plus variety acts. In 1934 it was taken over by Provincial Cinematotgraph Theatres controlled by Gaumont British Theatres. They continued with cine-variety house but closed it in 1937. It then became a live theatre venue, but in 1940, was requisitioned by the Government as a food store. It re-opened in as the New Theatre but was burnt down in 1971. The remains were demolished and the site is now a bank
162 Primark – this is in the old Medhursts Store dating to 1879 when Fred Medhurst bought several adjacent properties. It was also later occupied by Allders. The Medhurst name is still shown on the building. There is a blue plaque to HG Wells who was born here. The Primark store includes the site of 47 where H.G.Wells was born in 1866. There is a blue plaque commemorating this. A new road called the ‘New Cut’ was built here in 1832 removing a bend in the High Street. 47 was built after this and was Joseph Wells’ shop where his son was born.
172 Dated 1898. Architect Ernest Newton. This was part of the same group as the Royal Bell Hotel.
175 Royal Bell Hotel. This was built on the site of a posting house called The Bell Inn and known to have been extant in 1646, but which was demolished in 1897. In the late 18th it handled two daily coaches for London. It is mentioned in 'Pride and Prejudice'. It was designed as part of a group by Ernest Newton in 1898. It has panels of pargetted strapwork, lead-covered bows, and Tudor gables. Inside are a chimneypiece, and a staircase with brass and alabaster balustrade.
Surgery of James Scott, surgeon. In the early 19th 1794-1829 his surgery stood opposite the Royal Bell. He become an authority wounds after surgery
179 this was originally Martins Bank and circular motifs show ‘M’ and 1898.
180-184 HSBC/ ex-Midland Bank. This was built in 1888 as shops. It was designed by Walter Albert Williams, in the Flemish style. On 180 is a cherub. On 182 is "Anno 1888 Domini" plus a mermaid and merman. On 183 is carved fruit grasped by fabulous beasts and "established over a century" with the letters 'C' and 'H' for Covell & Harris, butchers
181-183 part of Bell group. 181 is the only shop in Bromley to have kept its original shop front.
194 Partridge. The Partridge was built as the National Provincial Bank in 1927 by Gunton & Gunton. It became a Public House in 1995 and is a Fullers house.
196-198 Pamphilion Pub. This was a house which was used as a wine merchants business at the end of the 18th. George Pamphilon became owner in 1865 and rebuilt much of it in 1876. The timber shop front is the same design as in the 19th. On the arch is an inscription and grape details. It is now a pub.
208-218 onion shaped Dutch gables. Part of a terrace built in 1902, the building was once occupied by Boots the Chemist
204-206 Barrel and Horn. This was previously called Tom Foolery. It is a Fuller's Pub with club sofas and oak tables
205 Greyhound. Pub dating from the 1840s. It became a Pizza Hut but was reopened by Wetherspoons in 2011. It has a large frontage onto Walters Yard
219 Astor Cinema. This was the first purpose built cinema to operate in Bromley. It opened in 1911 as the Palais de Luxe. In the 1920s it was enlarged and the facade was modernised. In 1934 it was taken over by Gaumont British Theatres under Denman Theatres. In 1940, it was closed and taken over by the Government as a food store, and in 1948, it was used as a demonstration facility for large-screen TV experiments. It re-opened in 1949 as the Palais de Luxe Cinema with new operators and some restoration work by Harry G. Payne. In 1954, new owners re-named it Pullman Cinema and in 1959, another operator re-named it Astor. It closed in 1977 and became an independent bingo club. It was partly demolished in 1985 and completely in 1988. There are now shops on the site
227 The Star & Garter was built in 1898, although appears to have originated in the 1840s. It is a half-timbered neo-Tudor building with etched glass, lincrusta ceiling. Wood panelling inside and tiled entrance. Outside is a relief Star and Garter plus St George and the Dragon. There is also an octagonal turret with a wooden cupola. Windows are based on Sparrowe's House at Ipswich. It was designed by Berney and Sons for Nalder and Collyer, of Croydon when it was intended to be a hotel
242 Empire Cinema. This was the Odeon, an original Oscar Deutsch Theatre which opened in 1936. It was designed by George Coles in an Art Deco/Art Moderne style. It has a narrow frontage on the High Street with a curved recess flanked by rounded wings and a curving canopy with the Odeon name mounted on top. In the 1970s it was tripled and changed again in 1988 and 2001. In 2006 it was taken over by Empire Cinemas Ltd. and re-named and in 2016 taken over by the Cineworld chain.
269-262 Swan & Mitre. This is an early 19th coaching inn with mid 18th stables. There are mirrors and seating from the old Gaiety Theatre inside.
Bromley College. The College was founded in 1666 by the Will of John Warner, Bishop of Rochester to provide housing for “twenty poore widowes of orthodoxe and loyall clergiemen.” It was intended that the college should be built in Rochester, near the Cathedral but land was apparently not available and with a special Act of Parliament, it was built in Bromley in 1672, near the Bishop’s palace. It consisted of twenty houses built around a quadrangle with a chapel and houses for a chaplain and a treasurer. It was once thought that Christopher Wren was the architect but it was Captain Richard Ryder, one of his surveyors, who was responsible for the design and construction. A second quadrangle was built in the 18th from bequests of Maria Bettenson of Chislehurst and William Pearce, a London merchant. The Colleges have had a close connection with Magdalen College, Oxford. Pillars around the quadrangle are thought to have been recycled from the Royal Exchange. The chapel needed enlargement with the addition of Sheppard’s College but the foundations were inadequate and so it was rebuilt a second time in 1862. The Porter’s Lodge was built and a clock tower added. In the mid-1970’s changes were made to the buildings and the trust deed changed so that ordained women could be accommodated. In 2004, the trustees for the maintenance of the colleges and the accommodation up to the standards required under national legislation.
Sheppard’s College was founded in 1840 for the unmarried daughters who had resided with their mothers in Bromley College and who became homeless when their mothers died. It was named for Sophia Sheppard, the widow of Dr Thomas Sheppard.
St. Peter and St. Paul. It is not known when the first church was built here but it is recorded in 1126 and it was made a parish church in the 12th. In 1824 it was rebuilt though the old tower was retained and it later survived the blitz. A new church included Stones from Rochester and Canterbury cathedrals and using local flints. It was consecrated in 1952 designed by F. Harold Gibbons .was dedicated by the Bishop of Rochester in 1957. A Norman font and a 14th door in the tower remain. There is also a bronze plaque in the church which records the names of the fallen parishioners in the Great War. The new bells of the church incorporated some of the metal from the original.
Church Rooms. These were added as an extension to the church.
Graveyard. Entered by a repositioned lych gate from 1855. The churchyard contains a pink granite obelisk to Coles Child, Lord of the Manor and Tetty Johnson's grave survived the blitz but the gravestone was broken. There are mature lime and horse chestnut trees. Stones in the churchyard have been recorded by the Kent Archaeological Society.
War Memorial. This was designed by Sydney March, is in a rose garden surrounded by a beech hedge. The cross is made of Portland stone with figures of Saint Michael, Saint George, Victory, and Peace
Church House Lodge.
Church House. The remains of a medieval building have been found here and this may be the site of the original Bromley manor. This was the Rectory in the 16th. In the 18th it belonged to Dr Abel Moysey and later his son improved the grounds, adding lawns, steps, shrubberies and fish ponds. From 1865-1889 it was the home of R. Langdon who funded Henry Bessemer’s development of steel manufacture. It was rebuilt in 1832 and stood at the end of a drive from the road. It was used as a Council restaurant in the 1920's, and the house and gardens were opened to the public in May 1926. During the Second World War the house was used as a Royal Observer Headquarters until 1941. It was destroyed in Second World War bombing in 1941. A terrace the south of the building remains as a balustrade, which ran along the back of the house, over- looking the pond.
Church House Gardens. Church House Gardens and Library Gardens are now one public park but were originally two sites. They are situated slightly back from the High Street, behind the Library and Churchill Theatre.
Library Gardens, this was made up of the grounds of 'Neelgherries', and the former grounds of Church House. The Gardens were laid out by Mr J Stenning under the supervision of the Borough Engineer, and opened to the public in 1906. Church House Gardens were landscaped by Abel Moysey. The two open spaces have a dramatic topography with a lake at the foot of planted slopes. The boundary wall of Neelgherries remains on the lower slopes. Two spring-fed ponds make up the lake. There are specimen trees and shrubs dominated by rhododendrons and azalea as well as birch, beech and ash, along with many ornamental trees, such as a Maidenhair tree, Atlas cedar and a collection of Pines. A model boating pond was built in 1933 using the Bromley Unemployed Works Scheme. An octagonal pond was tuned into a paddling pool in the 1980s.
Church House Gardens. The rockery below the terrace was created from masonry reclaimed from the bombed church. There is also a section of Tudor wall with bee-bole thought to be from the kitchen garden wall of 'Grete House' and the wall was moved to Church House Gardens. A rustic bandstand on the lake was burnt down in 1969 and later replaced by a concrete platform which too has gone. Tiered concrete seating on the bank is of the lake is designed as an amphitheatre and built in the 1920s as a job creation project. It was remodelled in 2008. A modern playground has been provided adjacent to the pool. Many common birds can be seen and heard in the Gardens.
Main road into Bromley from Plaistow 1929. Once marked the northern edge of town
Farwig Place. Johann Farwig came from Newington Causeway where he had a metal working company in 1832. He built these houses as a small development for his work force and for the surrounding area.
The Farwig. This is now a Co-op shop. There was originally a carriage pull-in to the left side of the building, which was later filled in as a small shop and in the 1960’s became incorporated into the pub area
Royal Oak. This pub was on the opposite corner to the Farwig and was a Rowley’s House. It was also said to have been founded by Mr. Farwig.
County Court. This appears to be a post war building.
Methodist Church. Church and ancillary buildings opened in 1990. They are on the site of what was the National School.
National School. This became the Church of England Primary School which moved here in 1855. It has since been demolished and moved to London Road in the 1980s. The school had originally been set up in the Gravel Pits on the edge of Bromley Common in 1716. This became delapidated and the coming of the railway to Bromley south made it important for the school to move. A field in College Slip was given by the Bishop of Rochester. It was effectively three schools – boys, girls and infants and there were cottages for all three head teachers. The main school has a bell turret on it,
K2 Telephone box
College Slip is the passageway which follows the old College wall and runs west from North Street. Up to the end of the 19th it was a country lane leading to open fields.
Imperial and Steven's Nursery. This was based on an early 19th cottage on the north side of the slip. The nursery itself was the adjacent open space. It was purchased by the College in 1830 to prevent development there. In 1984 it was bought by the Council and named College Green.
White mulberry tree, this is an 18th tree which was given to the town of Bromley. The flower bed around it was built by the Friends of Bromley Town Parks and Gardens in 2008. I
Green Gym – this volunteer group has installed here: 6 fruit trees; an insect habitat wall; a ‘dead-wood’ hedge; two timber pergolas.
Constructed between 1860 and 1880, and follows the line of an ancient footpath.
45 Railway Tavern. Built in 1879 as a hotel probably by Bereny & Sons for brewers Nalder and Collyer who are noted on terra cotta signage at first floor level.
41 Market Parade. Kent House. This was the site of the Bromley and Crays co-operative Society complex of Grocery, Boot repairs, Drapery, Bakery, Stabling and Assembly Rooms built in 1887, They were eventually taken over by the South Suburban Co-op and this became their headquarters building.
Liberal Club. This appears to have been adjacent to the Co-op and to have offered smoking, reading, writing, bagatelle and billiard rooms as well as a library contains and draughts, chess, and other games
26 East Street Evangelical church. This is shown as a Gospel Hall in 1900 with Sunday Services and weekday classes. Open Brethren 1930s
27-29 Drill Hall. This opened in 1872 built by Payne and Balding, for use by the Bromley Volunteer Rifle Corps and it was subsequently used for town and other events, having a sprung dance floor. It was also Strong’s Gymnasium and used by the Post Office as a Sorting Office. . It was converted to a pub, in 1996 by the Firkin Group as the Philatelist and Firkin – and the regimental insignia was then removed from the frontage. It is now O’Neill’s bar
19 Local Board offices. This was at the junction of East Street and West and built in 1867 on land donated by Coles Child. This was the body which administered Bromley from 1867 when the parish adopted the Local Government Act and a board of twelve members was formed. It was replaced by an Urban District Council in 1894. The building is now an estate agent.
The adjacent building of 1904 housed the offices and showrooms of the West Kent Electricity Board. It was repaired after a fire in the 1980s.
15 In 1900 this was the Vivid Cycle Works
12 Telephone Exchange in 1900,
3a Chimichanga Restaurant. This is in old Post Office building which was built in 1896 and enlarged in 1913 It is in a free classical style with terracotta facings. It had previously been in in Market Square but needed to enlarge.
2 Bourdon, Cycle manufacturers. William Bourdon made small 'ordinaries' here in the 1880s.
The road seems to date from the 1960s and was a development of the access drive to the Vicarage, which has now gone
St Paul’s House. This appears to date from the 1970s and is shown on maps as ‘Church Hall’. It has been used by the Red Cross and the NHS and a number of charitable causes
Telephone Exchange. Post war building.
24-34 Russell & Bromley. Posh shoe shop chain founded in 1873. Originated from 19th shoe makers in Eastbourne. In 1905 operations moved to Bromley which is their head office. They now have branches all over the UK including London’s west end
Farwig Lane Methodist Mission. A division within the High Street Methodists produced the Methodist organisation centred on the Farwig Lane area, which grew into the Farwig Lane Mission during the 19th
Freelands Hall. In 1900 this was a Gospel Hall for Darbyite Plymouth Brethren. It is now private housing.
Northlands Day Centre. Multiple Sclerosis Charity in what was St.John’s Parish room and Sunday school
Trinity Reformed Church. This was originally Presbyterian. It is a prominent red brick church, with a 118 foot spire, which was founded in 1895 by 5 émigré Scots and designed by John Murray. In the 1920s the neighbouring market garden on the corner site was purchased and is now the site of the car park and main church hall. In 1972 Trinity joined the union of the United Reformed Church and in 1995 we celebrated its centenary. The church included a Sunday school as well as a session house, vestry, and lavatories, and a basement kitchen. It was lit with electricity throughout from its first opening.
Unigate Milk Depot. This was on the corner with Freelands Grove and in the 1900 belonged to Hanley Brothers, cow keepers. The site is now housing,
31 Freelands Tavern. Pub which probably dates from the 1870s
This suburban residential road previously turned north at right angles at its western end. This stretch of road was lost in the construction of Kentish Way. There is now a wall and a walkway in this area
4 built in 1931 as a bakery.
This road was built to divert the A21 in a relief road away from the High Street. It was built from 1985 and the section from Tweedy Road to Masons Hill opened in 1992. The line of the road covered Harwood Avenue. Love lane and Rafford Way
Queens Gardens. In 1897 on Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee Coles Child donated two fields for use as a public garden. A plaque records this. It was originally named Victoria Gardens to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee and later Queen's Gardens. Previously this was the White Hart Field belonging to the pub and where the coaching horses grazed. It later became the Cricket Field, the venue of the Bromley Cricket Club where county matches were played until 1847. The park was refurbished in 2000.
Iron gates on the south west side of Queens Gardens. They date from the 1850s and were the gates to Plaistow Lodge in London Lane. They were given by the owner, Lord Kinnaird, as the entrance to Queen's Gardens in White Hart slip off the Market Square. They were moved here in 1990 when part of the park was taken for the Glades Shopping Centre.
Maze. This was on the edge of Queens Gardens and was bulldozed in 2014.
Bridge. This footbridge crosses between the Glades Shopping Centre and the Civic Centre.
Pavilion Leisure Centre. Mechanised sport, etc with a family play zone, leisure pool, bowling and a gym
Trees. These are along the boundary to Queen's Garden and were part of the boundary planting to the old Palace estate along what was Love Lane. They were part of the original avenue of Limes along the carriage drive to Bromley Palace. The rest were all cut down in 1987 when the road was built
Bromley Oak. This large oak tree stands on the edge of Kentish way and was once alongside Love Lane
This once ran on the line of what is now Kentish Way and coincided with the old drive to the Palace which ran from a gate it what was Widmore Lane. Some of the verges and trees remain in Kentish Way.
This is a partly pedestrianised area in the centre of the town. It is the location of the original Charter Market which was granted as a weekly market in 1205 to the Bishop of Rochester by King John, the weekly Charter Market is still held. A timber framed market house once stood in the square which was demolished in 1863 and replaced by a red brick town hall building – which housed the police, the local board, the literary institute and meeting rooms. This was itself demolished in 1933 and the market moved to Station Road. The buildings in the square were then replaced by the present half timbered block
1 - 5 date from the latter part of the 18th
12-13 Cafe Rouge. This is a yellow brick building of 1883 with sunflower motifs built for Collins, outfitters.
14 –19 date from the latter part of the 18th.
22 Lakeland & Argus shops. The Dunn family had traded here since at least 1710. Their premises were a shop with a furniture store at the rear. In 1909 the shop at 20 Market Square was burnt out and Dunns later bought adjacent buildings and in 1928/they built an Arts and Craft style three story department store which was destroyed by bombing in 1941. The current building replaced it and it was sold in 1967 to Heals. This is designed by by Bertram Carter in 1954-7 and was set back from the street line with an off-centre picture window on the first floor. Subtle shifts in levels, made possible because a temporary building of 1948 was enclosed by the new shop.
27-28. this shop with a ceramic facing was designed for David Greig and Sons, selling dairy produce and groceries. It was built in 1912 their company name and the date of 1912 was high up on the building. It is now in use as by different businesses
36 Duke’s Head pub. This pub dated from the 1840s and was named for the Duke of Cumberland. The building is now a bank
Mural. This shows the work of Charles Darwin who lived in the area covered bogy then borough. A previous mural commemorated HG Wells.
Town Pump. This cast iron pimp once stood against the market hall building and was moved to Church House Gardens in 1933. In 1985 it was returned to stand near the mural,
10 Red Lion. This pub has original tiling and an old fireplace. This is a Harvey’s house.
22 this was the print office for the Kentish Times.
Bromley Little Theatre. Community theatre established in 1938 in a 19th bakery. This is an amateur membership theatre presenting 11 shows a year and others in the theatre bar
The road was built post-1960s which runs round to the back of Bromley North Station to car parking and bus station facilities, including a canteen, on what were sidings and goods yard. It circles round Northside House office block
90 Anglesey Arms. This is a Shepherd Neame house.
64 White Horse pub. With brown glazed tiling on the ground floor. Dating from the 1870s this was a Crowleys of c/Croydon House, and later Charringtons.
St.John the Evangelist. This was initially a chapel of ease serving a fast growing new district and in 1872 an iron church which came from Isle of Wight was opened in Park Road. The present building by George Truefitt opened in 1880 on the corner of Park Grove and it became part of a separate parish. The building was damaged in the Second World War II but it was later restored to look as it did when it was first built.
19 Crown and Anchor pub. This was once a gay bar.
Bromley Baptist Church. The church dates from 1863 and the foundation stone was laid in 1864 in the presence of Charles Spurgeon. It was designed by R. H. Moore.The church has a memorial to the dead of two World Wars.. Community hall extension built in 1993
This is now under Kentish Way
3 Mission Care Support Centre. This is an organisation providing care homes with a Christian ethic which grew out of the Bermondsey Medical Mission.
Royal Mail Delivery Office. This is on the site of a Baptist church was taken over by the Salvation Army in 1906. In 1934 it was proposed to build a cinema here, and the Army left. The cinema was, however, never built.
Northpoint. Serviced flats. This block was originally known as Sherman House and was used by Bromley Social Services and a number of NHS and related organisations. Nine storey block by Owen Luder. Built in 1968.
Constructed between 1860 and 1880, and follows the line of an ancient footpath.
8 is where Mrs. Knott's dame school was attended by H.G. Wells as a young boy between 1871 and 1874. This is commemorated by a plaque on the front wall
Fire Station. This was designed by Stanley Hawkings, Borough Engineer, and was completed in 1905.
22 Community House. This was built as Bromley Magistrates Court. Built in 1939 by C Cowles Voysey
9 Bromley Marble – marble supply
Bromley Civic Centre. The Civic Centre consists of buildings grouped around the Bishop's Palace. It became the Civic Centre in 1982 after Stockwell College closed and was opened by the Queen in 1986. The Council Chamber, east of the courtyard dates from 1985. More buildings were added in 1988 - 1991. The Council Chamber, office block and car park were designed by Chris Winterburn of Architects’ Joint Practice.
Bishops’ Palace... In the 8th King Æthelbert II gave land and the manor here to Eardwulf, Bishop of Rochester and later kings added to this and it remained with the bishops after the Conquest. It is thought that a manor house was built here around 1100. Various improvements were made but in 1774 it was pulled down through disrepair and rebuilt. The north facing frontage displays the arms of Bishop Thomas quartered with those of the see of Rochester. In 1845 the Palace was sold to Coles Child who enlarged it. It was remodelling by Norman Shaw in 1863 and Ernest Newton in 1903 and 1920.
Palace Park. This was extensive, and included the area of Queens Garden separated by Love Lane. What remains is on the south side of the Old Palace, including the lake. Lawns with some mature specimen trees survive and include Lebanon Cedar, lime, beech, holly, yew, and oak, augmented with modern ornamental cypresses. By 1865 Coles Child employed James Pulham to create what a fernery at the north end of the lake, and a waterfall to the south. ‘Pulhamite’ rock-work was developed by Pulham and 1840s he used it in the construction of artificial rock-work using clinker and scrap brickwork to produce boulder-like formations. The fernery is in a bank with a central cleft through which water flowed into a basin and thence to St Blaise’s Well. The waterfall rockwork is in the dam and has a central cleft through which water cascades to a basin
St. Blaise's well. In the palace grounds was a Holy Well and Oratory to St. Blaize and this was a place of pilgrimage. Blaise was the Bishop of Sebaste in Armenia, martyred in 316 A.D and the patron saint of wool combers. The chalybeate well was said to have healing properties. The well was rediscovered by the Bishop's domestic chaplain in 1754 and excavations found steps and planks round the spring. Coles Child built a structure round it but this was destroyed in a snow storm in 1887.
Ice house. The ice house probably has a late-18th core, modified in the 19th when a summerhouse was added. It is in red brick with a tarred roof. The east side has a 20th pointed arched opening for use as a canoe store. The north side has two charging holes with curved sides, for shovelling ice in from the lake. Inside there were originally two chambers but the division has been removed,
Ha-Ha wall. This is a three foot high retaining wall of yellow bricks. This maybe original, or a Pulmanite feature.
Folly. Near the entrance is a small folly built in the 19th including a representational Norman arch with zig-zag mouldings. This was found when the lake dredged but it may be part of the Pulham design,
Stockwell College. The College goes back to the late 18th and Joseph Lancaster’s school in Borough Road. This became a teacher training college and in the 1860s partly moved to a site in Stockwell – hence the name. In 1935 they might the Bishops Palace and the 18th house was adapted and extended to provide accommodation for 114 women students. In 1940 they were evacuated to Devon, and returned to Bromley in 1945 where much of the building had been destroyed in bombing, and big public air raid shelters had been built alongside the site. High blast walls obscured the windows and the grounds had been turned into allotments. By 1960 around 200 students were following one or two year training courses leading to the Teacher’s Certificate. In 1960 the College to was sold to Kent County Council, to fund expansion at Borough Road. More extensions were built in Bromley and in 1960 the courtyard was formed. Then College closed in 1980.
Sports grounds for the college stood to the north of the site, to the east of what is now Kentish Way
Market Place. A weekly market was held in Station Road and had been resited from its original location in Market Square until 2012. This is now a car park.
The name 'Tetty' Johnson. She was Dr. Johnson's wife, Elizabeth, who was buried in the church in 1752. The road winds down hill past the backs of shops and flats alongside the flint wall of the churchyard.
The Old Courtyard
Dunns depository built in the 1890s and now flats
Named after a local resident John Newman Tweedy, who lived in Widmore House, which stood on the site later used for the old Town Hall buildings . The road was developed in the 1889s on the line of an old footpath
The Old Town Hall,. It is in two parts the earlier paett half on Tweedy Road was built in 1906 as a version of the design by R Frank Atkinson that won a competition in 1904. It is simple building with a council chamber on the first floor. The extension was built in 1938. It is to become a hotel and restaurant
The School of Art and Science. This dates from 1878 and was later extended. In 1898 the clock tower building was added along with the town’s first library later superseded. The words Art and Science are part of the decorative relief terracotta panels and the white horse motif for Kent. The opening included a display of the first working telephones ever made. The School with its classrooms, together with the later laboratories and studios was originally privately run. As Bromley College of Art it moved to Rookery Lane in 1965. The building later contained the Citizens Advice Bureau, the Council's careers service and Relate’s counselling service.
Bromley North Station Opened in 1878 it is the terminus of line from Sundridge Park and Grove Park. The line was originally constructed by Bromley Direct Railway Company which was absorbed into the South Eastern Railway Company within a year. The original timber buildings consisted of “ a wooden shed for the booking office and waiting room, and another for the goods office, with a disused railway carriage as extra office space” . The station was rebuilt before the electrification of the line in 1925 by Southern Railway with a coppered cupola and a booking hall with a large concourse and a glass roof. There is a bookstall and iron gates in front of the platforms. The service now consists of a shuttle service to Grove Park.
Station Forecourt – the rebuild included a forecourt on the site of the old turntable.
Goods yard, This had a separate wooden office and an adjacent coal yard. It closed in 1968 and is now the bus station.
Walters Yard. This is a pathway named after John Walter who ran a smithy here. Until the end of the 18th this part of the High Street from The Bell Inn northwards, was comprised land for Grete House. During the Napoleonic Wars this included 'Prison Yard' which referred to a temporary building on the site used to hold French prisoners. It is now a back road and largely a supermarket car park.
Borough Electricity Works. This was built here in 1898 and designed by Ermest Newton. This was a coal fired power station which operated 1898 -1931. It was set up by the Bromley (Kent) Electric Light and Power. Ltd and taken over by the Council in 1927.
Sainsbury's. The ceramic panels recall the ornate Dutch gables of the original Fire Station building and other buildings
This road was constructed between 1860 and 1880, and follows the line of an ancient footpath.
1 This was originally West Kent Electricity Board opened in 1904 to house the offices and showrooms of the electricity works.. Ity was renovated in 1987 by Brian Meeking and Associates. It is now an estate agent.
2 Chinese Restaurant. This is the original fire station used 1897 - 1910
Central School for Girls. This appears to have been an extension of the church schools set up in the 19th and appears to have been a selective school offering s ‘commercial’ education to girls. It seems to have been renamed Bromley Day Commercial School for Girls and was badly damaged by a flying bomb landing in the playground. The school later to moved Bullers Wood where it became a girls ‘technical’ school.
Bromley School of Art, (Building Department). The buildings are shown as this on maps of the 1960s and as Ravensbourne College of Art in of 1971.
In 1850 Widmore Lane consisted of a number of timber cottages plus the old Three Compasses public house.
10 Arkwright's Wheel. Originally called the "Three Compasses" it dated from pre-1840s. The current building dates from 1911 in the Arts & Crafts style replacing an ancient hostelry. It changed name some time in the 1970s and then to "Scruffy Murphy's." It is now an Italian restaurant.
Christian Science Church. This was designed in 1928 by E Braxton Sinclair and is a fusion of classicism and Art Deco based on the design of a Roman tomb. Thus a Mediterranean cypress tree as part of the integral landscaping. It has a steel frame construction, clad in brown brick with red brick dressings..
Stable block To the rear of the shops is one a stable block now in use as an architects’s office
United Reformed Church. Rebuilt on land adjacent to the original church as a first phase of The Glades development in 1989.
Town Hall Extension. In two independent parts, at right angles to one another. The earlier section is in Tweedy Road and the second,facing Widmore Road. Behind a disciplined exterior is a reinforced-concrete construction . Inside is a top lit imperial staircase of marble with metal handrail dominated by four fluted nymphs clad in green marble.
Homeopathic Hospital. This was moved to Queens Garden in 1900.
118 Bromley, Chislehurst and District Maternity Hospital. This was founded in 1917 by Mrs Mann in the house which had been the Homeopathic Dispensary. Expense incurred in protecting the building in the Second World War and loss of staff caused financial difficulties. In 1944 the Hospital was closed following bombing. It reopened in 1945 but closed soon after because of financial difficulties.
Bromley Hospital Widmore Unit. The hospital took over the Maternity Hospital in 1945 and became its antenatal department. A large pre-fabricated hut was built in the grounds to create extra space. It opened in 1948 and closed in 1971. The Hospital building has been demolished and a nursing home complex for people with learning disabilities was put on site. This has since closed..
Blue Plaque Guide
Brewery History Society., Web site
British Listed Buildings. Web site
Bromley and Sheppherd’s Colleges Web site
Bromley Heritage Walks. Web site
Bromley MS Society. Web site
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Cox. Kent Cox
Friends of Bromley Town Parks and Gardens. Web site
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Historic England. Web site
Ideal Homes. Web site
London Borough of Bromley. Web site
London Gardens online. Web site
London Footprints. Web site
Lost Hospitals of London. Web site
Nairn. Modern Buildings
Pastscape. Web site
Pevsner and Cherry. South London,
Pevsner. West Kent
Pub History., Web site
Reconnections. Web siite
Swan and Mitre. Web site
Trinity URC Church. Web site
Walk Around Bromley
Wikipedia. As expedient.
Posted by M at 04:25
Thursday, 28 September 2017
Post to the north New Cross
Post to the east Lewisham
Much of this area was built up in the early 20th century by Bridge House estates.
St Margaret’s Square this area of green space stands in front of houses as an amenity area
Playground next to Macmillan House with murals alongside
Graham Platna Co. Ltd, Ashby Works. Electro Plating. There are now flats on this site. Ashby Works was extant in the 1950s.
In 1189 the manor of Brockley was given to a Premonstratensian Abbey the buildings of which were sited here. In 1205 they moved to Bayham Abbey but kept the Brockley holdings until 1526. The foundations of some of the buildings here were discovered during 19th buildings at Manor Farm in
This road junction appears to run from the junction of Geoffrey Road sand Upper Brockley and to the junction with Coulgate Streets. In the middle ages it was an unnamed meeting place of three roads. One first ran from here to Deptford. Another was on the line of Brockley Road and ran south. The other had come from Telegraph Hill and went on to Nunhead. The area was known as Deptford Common from around 1800 and a stream from here flowed roughly along the line of Malpas Road to join the Ravensbourne near Deptford Bridge.
The Croydon Canal is said to have altered the road layout when it was built, so that the towpath became a section of the road. Canal right through it and seems to have been the towpath for a while. The bridge over the railway is on a site south of its predecessor over the canal, this was immediately south of the lock cottage but there was no road to the west.
11 This was a railway building contemporary with Brockley Lane station. It is said to be the station master's house.
Brockley Lane Station. This was on the line built between Nunhead and Blackheath Hill and Greenwich Park. The London Chatham and Dover Railway opened the line late in 1871, with this station in 1872 sited on the embankment above Brockley Cross on the bridge which crosses the line running north from Brockley Station. From Nunhead, the line branch rose for a short distance, and then fell to the station at Brockley Lane. The platforms were wood, apart from short brick sections on the bridge over the road. The track level buildings were also of wood and were at the London end. There were waiting rooms were on both platforms and an office for the Station Master on the down side, and a porter's room on the up. The line closed for lack of custom in 1917. The line remained open for freight west of this station and the area to the east used to store carriages. It reopened to Lewisham in 1929 but this station has never reopened. It was finally demolished in 1982.
28a Brockley Lane Station Entrance. There was a street level entrance entrance on the down side, west of Brockley Road. This now consists of a modern metal gate reached via three stairs and brick piers where the entrance was. It was closed in Great War and never reopened. A path led into a subway, from which stairs went up to wooden platforms. A building here was demolished after a fire in 2004. A subway ran under the line from here and is still there.
Brockley Lane signal box. This was east of where the tracks serving the two freight establishments diverged. It closed in 1973.
163 St.Andrew's United Reform Church. This was formerly a Presbyterian church built in 1882 by McKissack & W. G. Rowan of Glasgow.
180 Sainsbury’s and associated flats. This is on site of Brockley Motors which was once the site of Ritz Cinema
Ritz Cinema. This was originally the Brockley Picture Theatre opened in 1913. It was re-named Palladium Cinema in 1915. In 1929 the name changes again to Giralda Cinema and in 1936 when it was closed for renovation. It re-opened as the New Palladium Cinema and in it was re-named Ritz Cinema. It closed in 1956 and was demolished in 1960.
184 Brockley Barge. Wetherspoons' pub which used to be called the Breakspears Arms. Probably dates from the 1880s.
201 Brockley Sorting Office. In the public area is a plaque “In memory of Sean McGill died 30. 10. 92 aged 22. He died in a road accident. The office is on the site of the 19th Methodist Church which fronted onto Harefield Road,
240 Brockley Social Club. This opened in 1913.
315 shops on what was a vacant space entering a tennis ground, later the Roundel club
347 Brockley Cemetery Lodge. This is the altered original lodge. It is a, L-plan house with medieval-style touches, built in Kentish rag stone. There is an adjacent cedar tree, Built 1858
Brockley Cemetery Gothic gate piers. The cemetery opened in 1858 for the Deptford Burial Board.
294-296 Brockley Road Co-op. This was St Cyprian’s church. This was built as a mission church called either as St Mary's Chapel or ‘St Cyprian Mission Hall’. St Cyprian's church itself which stood on Adelaide Road and was bombed in the Second World War and services reverted to the mission. It was sold in 1968 to the Roman Catholic Church and used s a hall and community centre by the Catholics. They planned to build a new church here but this was not done. In 1981 they built a new hall behind which was sold in 2009. The church has now been rebuilt behind the original frontage to form a shop.
This appears to be the area north of Endwell Road and alongside the railway to the east. This may have been an area where spoil from the canal was dumped.
Brick Field, this was owned by W. V.Nichols in the 1880s/
Chelwood Nursery School. This was originally Honor Oak Nursery School which opened in early 1939, being renamed Chelwood after the war.
The southern section was once called Railway Approach, The road was once part of Brockley Lane
Croydon Canal. The canal was roughly on the line of the railway which bought it out and replaced it. It is thought that the grassed area in the bend of the road is on the line of the canal. A lock was sited here by the end of the grassy embankment near the footbridge on the west side of the street. When the railway was built spoil was dumped into the old canal and the embankment is thought to be the remains of this.
1, 2, 3 labourers’ cottages built in 1833. It is thought that these may have fronted the canal – they are only one room deep.
Flats on the site of the Post Office Sorting office. This had a plaque on it for ER VII 1901 and included two halls and offices. The date was also on the rain water heads. Some parts of the wall and entrance piers remain. Postmen’s office
Brockley Station. This lies between Honor Oak Park and New Cross Gate stations on Southern Rail. Trains run here from London Bridge and go to Caterham, Guildford and Dorking and also on the loop to Victoria. Since 2010 it is part of by London Overground for trains running between Highbury and Islington and West Croydon, The line was built by the London and Croydon Railway which opened in 1839 on the line of the Croydon Canal. This station was added and opened in 1871 - it is said that the station opened then to beat the opening of Brockley Lane Station which is on a line above the station which crosses it. Originally there was a two storey gabled station building on the up side and another single storey red-brick building on the down side. This was replaced by a system-built CLASP station which is a two storey flat roofed utilitarian structure composed of concrete panels.
Footbridge. Iron lattice girder bridge which goes across the railway built in 1904
Mural. The 4-paneled mural is called “The Wall” and was created by Louis Henry for the 2004 Brockley Max festival. It originally showed scenes of historic Brockley but has been damaged since. Other murals have been added and alternations have been made for subsequent Max Festivals.
St Peter's Church Hall. Opened in 1879 and originally provided Bible study for domestic servants, space for an Orchestral Society and the Microscopical Society. It also included a Book Club. It is now an Indian church.
St Gregorios Indian Orthodox Church This is what was St Peter’s Church hall. The church is also called the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church, founded by St. Thomas, one of the twelve apostles who went to India in A.D. 52. St. Gregorios Church is the first such parish church in the United Kingdom and is the mother church of all others there.
Footbridge over the railway. There was no bridge here for the canal and this is a 1830s bridge widened. It was replaced in the early 1990s/
Railway. Under the bridge the Catford Loop line crosses the main line. The loop runs between Brixton and Shortlands and carries trains to Sevenoaks.
This was Martin’s yard. Martins were dairymen based in Endwell Road
This stretch of the road was once called Penmartin Road.
Brockley Cross Business Centre. Once the side of a siding to the coal depot, Martins Sidings. This was entered from Mantle Road.
Endwell Works. Harefield, manufacturing chemists. Pre 1970
100-106 Tea Factory. Flats in what was Bridge house. This is said to have been in the late 1940’s and later extended by the London Tea and Coffee Company whose original warehouse had been destroyed in the Second World War. It appears to have been occupied by the Economy Tea Co. which dated from 1934. It was used for blending and packing tea. The original brick building has been extended with a tower and roof addition.
111 Tele Nova moved here in the 1960s producing specialist radio and telecoms items. In the 1980s they became part of ASCOM and have since moved away.
115 Howarth Timber
115 Co-op bakery. Royal Arsenal Co-operative Society. This is now Howarth Timber.
J. W. Pindar factory. They were druggists’ engineers. In 191l the made a pill cutting machine for Beechams in the US. Later they made suppositories etc
Brockley Cross Business Centre. This is also accessed via Drakefell Road.
Launderette and dry cleaners with signage. David Bowie is said to have made a film here. It has been suggested that the building was constructed for Martin’s Dairy.
Mural –this is of Bob Marley, created by Dale Grimshaw for the Brockley Max.
76-78 Elim Pentecostal Church- this was St.George’s Church built in 1893 by Balham Brothers to the designs of Gilbee Scott as a daughter church of St James, Hatcham. It was never consecrated. It has red facing bricks with additions in London stocks. There is an open trussed timber roof. There was no bell. It was sold in 2003 to the Pentecostal church. To the south was a church hall built in 1887 and said to be on the site of a forge.
84 Greens of Brockley. Kneller Iron Works also listed in Kneller Road. The site is now new housing.
Mission Hall. This stood adjacent to the Kneller Iron Works before the Second Wold War.
The eastern end of the road was once St.Peter’s Road
The Old Stables. This was the site of Little Brockley Farm
This has its original granite sett surface
Cranfield Works. In 1893 this was Photophane Company, Photo-Mechanical Art Printers. They remained there until at least 1920.
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel built in 1876. This was later replaced by the sorting office building.
4 Brockley Police Station. Now closed and sold off and converted to flats. It was built in 1881-3 to the designs of John Butler Surveyor to the Metropolitan Police. The building has a main entrance on Howson Road and a return frontage on Kneller Road with a large yard area to the rear. When closed it still had its original layout with reception, waiting room, charge room and offices on the ground floor, a canteen in the Kneller Road wing and the cells in the opposite wing, with the sergeant’s family quarters upstairs. There was a drill yard to the west.
St. Mary Magdalene Church. This began as a mission in 1905. The church was built by the diocesan builder Mr Romain to designs in the Roman style by the architect Young Bolton, It opened in 1899. It is in brick and the front has a Celtic cross and a circular window in the centre. There is a niche with a statue of St Mary Magdalene. In 1906 the Augustinians of the Assumption were put in charge of the church and remained until 1997. In 1917 a Calvary was unveiled as a War Memorial was designed by Joseph Dutton and is on the street corner. In 1920 it became an independent parish. In 1940 much of the church was destroyed in bombing along with the presbytery. It was restored by 1950. In 1997 the Assumptionist Fathers left, and the parish was placed under the care of the Society of Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity.
St. Mary Magdalene Catholic Primary School. This was built at the same time as the church.
This is an ancient right of way and one of the oldest thoroughfares in Lewisham. It now runs alongside the cemetery wall.
Cemetery wall – in the wall is the rear of a chimney, thought to be for cremations.
Kneller Iron Works. This firm was present from at least 1916 and seems to have still been extant in the 1970s when they were making hospital and care home trolleys and equipment. Galvanized mild steel and steel sections. Owned by Henry Green. A long wall with alcoves must have been the boundary to their site.
Brockley Police Station. Rear entrance for vehicles and boundary formed by a high brick wall.
Cemetery. This square covers a portion of the northern area of Deptford Cemetery and Ladywell Cemetery. The two Cemeteries were opened within one month of each other in 1858 and are sited on adjacent plots of previously open land. The area is shown in 1745 as 'Brockley Wood. In the 19th it was owned by the Earl of Dartmouth and called 'Great Field', previously Strodes or Shrouds or Northfield. They were common fields or Lammas Lands. They are owned and managed by Lewisham Council and are important wildlife sites. Until 1948 they were completely separate, divided by a wall but were merged in 1965, and the wall was replaced by a grassed ridge planted with a line of trees.
247-243a Land from the lock cottage stretches into what became Malpas Road and is marked by the four houses of 247-243A .. When Malpas Road was built in the 1890’s a gap was left here
Railway Bridge crossing a deep underpass
Maypole Court. This was the Maypole Inn dating from the 1880s and closed in 2014.
Martin’s Siding. This was on the north side of the Brockley Lane Station. A goods line was opened in 1885 for 36 wagons and leased to London North West Railway which sub let to coal merchant Charrington Warren Ltd. The entrance was in Mantle Road. , Martins were dairymen based in 4 Endwell Road. Closed in 1970
Great Northern Railway coal depot. This was by the up side of Brockley Lane Station for 40 wagons and serviced coal trains from Farringdon Street and Loughborough Junction. Closed in 1970.
Brockley station had an entrance here.
Drumbeat School. Drumbeat is a special school for children and young people with autism. It opened in 2012 for 6th form students
Meadowgate School. This was a community special school. The school was on the area blasted by a V1 in 1945. The school has been demolished and replaced
Housing on the site of tennis courts and then the Roundel Club.
Partly on the site of the Great Northern Railway coal yard
Canal locks 11 and 12 may have been at the end of this road. The retaining wall in the southern part of the road shows the cutting which gave a level section between the locks,
Old lock house. A lock-keeper’s cottage was on the east side of the canal opposite Millmark Grove on the site of garages. This cottage survived until the early 1940’s.
St. Asaph Road
John Stainer Community Primary School. This was built in 1884 by the London School Board. and was originally ‘Mantle Road School’ – the school predating the construction of St. Asaph Road.. In 1954 some of the school was demolished and the school was renamed. There has been some expansion of buildings on the site recently.
Fire hydrant iron pavement cover. Made by James Simpson & Co.
This is basically the main road through the Honor Oak Estate.
48 Golden Dragon. Fifties built estate pub in a parade of shops with a basic interior, apparently unchanged for many years. Closed in 2009 and demolished/
This is on the site of stables which were the last remnants of Manor Farm.,
Turnham Primary Foundation School. This is the primary school for the inter-war Honor Oak Estate, and it is to be assumed that the school was built with the estate.
Upper Brockley Road
On the 1870 OS map, this is the one and only road shown.
St. Peter’s Church. This was built 1866 -1870 in the grounds of the 12th Premonstratensian Abbey, using ‘sea-worn stones from the coast of Kent’ and designed by . Fredereick Marrable. The tower was completed 1890 by A. W. Blomfield.. There is a lot of expensive polychrome decoration. A hand-wound clock in the tower is by Smiths of Clerkenwell. On inside walls are memorials to dead of the Great War.
St.Peter's Centre to the rear of the church
Brockley Barge. Web site
Brockley Central. Web site
Brockley Cross Action Group. Web site
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Disused Stations. Web site
Field. London Place Names,
Lewisham Local History Newsletter
Lewisham Local History Transactions
London Borough of Lewisham. Web site
Monk. The Muffin Man and Herring Barrow
Municipal Dreams. Web site
Remnants of the Croydon Canal. Web site
St George. Web site
St.Gregorios Indian Orthodox Church
St Mary Magdalene Church and school. Web site
Retracing Canals to Croydon and Camberwell.
Spurgeon. Discover Deptford and Lewisham
St.Peter’s Church. Web site
Transpontine. Web site
Wikipedia. As expedient.
Posted by M at 02:00
Saturday, 2 September 2017
Post to the north Mickleham
Post to the east Burford Bridge
Ancient lane running at a diagonal between Chapel Lane and what is now the A24 which ran through what was once the centre of a medieval village. It has been suggested that this is part of the original Pilgrims Way. It was built up with modern up market housing since the 1940s. It terminates at a gate leading into Gravel Pit Plantation. The lane used to continue across the railway to the main road. There is now no trace of the lane east of the railway. Adler is the name of a house here.
Gravel Pit Plantation. This was planted with trees until the 1920s
The lane is now set up as the entrance to the Denbies Wine Estate, with car parks, signage, etc. It passes through fields which are now vineyards. The section leading to a junction with the A24 has now been diverted southwards.
Bradley Farm. Bradley farm is now the visitors’ centre of the Denbies wine estate. The farmhouse itself is used for B&B accommodation. It was once a pig and cattle farm.
Denbies Wine Estate visitors' centre. This is double courtyard building which acts as an entrance to the estate. It includes a working winery installed as an exhibition with a commentary as well as wine cellars, a cinema, art gallery, lecture room, two restaurants and a shop. The vineyard itself is the largest in the UK and one of the largest privately owned vineyards in Northern Europe. It covers 265 acres and can produce up to 400,000 bottles annually.
Railway Bridge – this carries the Leatherhead to Dorking railway.
Bradley Farm Cottages. These are adjacent to the railway bridge.
Fields – in the farm fields here wartime tanks were buried by the Canadian Army here in 1944. At least two of these have been dug up.
Road with up market housing built up mainly since the Second World War. The road is named for Fanny Burney, whose Camilla Lacey house stood to the north.
Archway at the Crabtree Lane junction. It dates from 1923. It has or had the word ‘Leladene’ set above it. It was built by Victor Freeman in memory of his wife Lela.
Plaque on the srchway recording the residence here of Fanny Burney and General d’Arblay at Camilla Cottage.
It has been suggested that this is part of the Pilgrims Way. The concept of this path originated in the mid 19th Ordnance Survey – yet the path probably follows the line of a prehistoric track running under the North Downs.
Camilla Lacey. This is the site of the house which novelist and diarist Fanny Burney built; it is said, with the proceeds of her novel ‘Camilla’. She lived here with her husband General d’Arblay 1797-1801. The house was later sold and passed through many owners. It is said to have burnt down in 1919 destroying a collection of Burney memorabilia. In 1922 the site and a new house were bought by Victor Freeman which he named Leladene after his wife Lela who had recently died. It has since passed through other owners and is now called Camilla Lacey.
Ice House. This was rectangular built into an artificial mound, which had been made to give a view of Norbury Park. It stands in the north west corner of the site
Chapel Farm. The farm dates from the middle ages and was the centre of the manor of Polesden.
Barn. This is a late 16th early 17th timber framed barn with weatherboarding on a base of flint and stone. This base includes some blocks which may be reused from derelict adjacent Chapel. It has now been converted to housing.
Ruined Chapel. Ruins of a late 13th chapel – what remains is a flint built west wall with a gable and part of the east wall. It was probably part of the medieval manor of Polesden. It was probably abandoned as a chapel in the 16th and used as a farm outbuilding
Lovedon Cottage. This was formerly a 17th Farmhouse called 'Birds and Abbotts’. Between 1930 and 1960 it was occupied by H J Baker who used the outbuildings as a forge. Later his son ran a car repair business on the site.
St Michael's Chapel. This is a Chapel of Ease to the church at Mickleham. It was originally an oak-framed barn owned by 'Birds and Abbotts' arm used in the 19th by railway workers. It was secured as a rest room for them by a local lady, Elizabeth Vulliamy. She organised Sunday services, and helped with writing letters to the men’s families. The barn continued to be used for Sunday services after the workers had left and in 1904, it was licensed as a chapel-of-ease
North Downs Way
Modern long distance footpath which runs from Dover to Farnham and passes east west through this square.
This was built as the entrance to Home Farm
Home Farm. This was part of the Camilla Lacey estate and was built for Victor Freeman in the 1920s. The buildings were arranged round three sides of a courtyard with a pump in the middle. There was a central clock tower and a pump which remains. The estate developed financial problems in 1932 and the site was developed as housing by Portwell Ltd,
Barn End. This was built to house senior farm workers.
Tudor Cottage. This was the house for the farm manager
St Anthony. This was built to house senior farm workers
West Humble Street
West Humble. May be remains of a hamlet depopulated in the Middle Ages
'The Stepping Stones' Public House. This was originally the Railway Arms built around 1870 on the site of the old workshops. It was renamed The Stepping Stones when Prime Minister Clement Attlee and Home Secretary Chuter Ede ate here in 1946 to celebrate the re-instatement of the Stepping Stones across the River Mole.
Anti-tank ditch. This was dug in the Second World War from the pub eastwards across the fields belonging to Bradley Farm
Box Hill and West Humble Station. This lies between Leatherhead and Dorking Stations on Southern and also the South Western railways. It dates from 1867. The owner of Norbury Park was a retired railway contractor, Thomas Grissell, and he insisted on having his own station, and to be able to stop any train at the station on request. It was built in a very ornate style, designed by Charles Driver with patterned tiles, exposed gable timbers and a pyramidal turret with ornamental ironwork. The station was successively named-'West Humble for Box Hill' until 1870, then 'Boxhill and Burford Bridge' .then 1896, 'Boxhill' until 1904, then 'Boxhill and Burford Bridge' again until 1985.
Catbells. This was the village Infant School
Cleveland Court. These flats and houses are on the site of what was Westhumble House and named Cleveland after the Duke of Cleveland lived there in the 1830s. It was later owned by astronomer, physicist and mathematician Sir JamesJeans. The annual Box Hill Music Festival was held here until 1992. The house was later demolished
British Listed Buildings. Web site
Chelsea Speleological Society, Newsletter
Denbies Wine Estate. Web site
English Wine Producers. Web site
Historic England. Web site
Stepping Stones. Web site
Tarplee. Industrial History of the Mole Valley District
Wikipedia. Web site. As appropriate.
Posted by M at 12:15
Thursday, 31 August 2017
Post to the west (north west quarter) Mile End
Post to the west (north east quarter)
Post to the east Bromley by Bow
Post to the north Old Ford
Addington Arms. Pub dating from the 1860s. It does not appear to be still there.
Police stables. From 1938 twenty horses were located here. These stables were built in moderne style white concrete by police surveyor Gilbert Mackenzie Trench. There is a stable at the back as well as tack rooms and a chimney for the forge – there was a full time farrier. Above are two flats for married police officers. The white concrete wall is original.
1-5 Inland Revenue Office. Sold off 1981. Has been used as a college an as offices
This was once called Priscilla Street.
1 Drapers' Almshouses. These were built in 1706. What remains is a brick group of four tenements with central raised and pedimented chapel. They were restored in 1982 but were originally part of a larger group funded by Sir John Jolles in 1617 and built by the Worshipful Company of Drapers. The present range was funded by John Edmanson who used Sir Christopher Wren's office to build what remains today. In 1858 a lodge was built on the fourth side forming an quadrangle with 44 almshouses and a chapel. In 1867 the site to be bought by the North London Railway Company and The tenants were moved to Tottenham. All that remained following railway work was this centrepiece flanked by 4 almshouses. The tenants moved back in until the 1950s after which the site became derelict. The GLC and the Oxford House Housing Association rebuilt the almshouses in 1982.
The stretch of road south from Bow Road is alongside railway arches all with small business, mainly motor trade. The road then turns abruptly east along the line of what was Archibald Street.
William Brinson Centre, Day centre for people needing day care. To be demolished for housing.
Bow Road Goods Depot. This was opened by the Great Eastern Railway in 1885. It was on a triangle of land and handled coal, bricks, building materials and general merchandise and was had a 5-ton capacity crane, a weighbridge and a lock-up. It closed in 1964 and the Bow Triangle Business Centre is now on the site
Gas Factory Junction. This is a railway junction named for the gas works adjacent to it. It has acted as a boundary point for the rail lines which converge on it and has had a past with many interchanges and the necessary signal boxes to deal with them. It was also used by lines serving the gas works, and a coal depot.
Rope walk. This is shown in the 19th lying in space between the rail lines.
All Hallows church. This was originally designed by Ewan Christian in 1873-4 for the Grocers' Company and funded by the sale of the City church of All Hallows Staining. It was rebuilt in 1954-5 by A.P. Robinson of Caroe & Partners, using the core of the war-damaged church and which preserves Christian's big brick design towering above the street. Inside was over- powering but a reordering in 2001 by Tonk Hornsby of Keith Harrison Architects had provided a multi-functional hall. Inside is a plaque which says “The Church of All Hallows, Bromley by Bow, was destroyed by bombs on 18th September 1940 and the new church was dedicated by the Bishop of Stepney on 19th October 1955 to the Glory of God. The rebuilt church commemorates the men and women of Bromley by Bow who died through enemy action in the World War 1939-1945
Mission. In the 1860s the "Lighthouse Mission" had a permanent building in a chapel here. A chapel had been included when the street was built up in 1876, following meetings held in the home of a local residents. The chapel continued to be used until it was bombed in the Second World War
Bow Common Lane
Bow Common Gas Works. This was the Great Central Gas Works set up in 1850 by Angus Croll on behalf of the City of London in order to replace the inner city Blackfriars works. It was set up as a ‘consumers’ company which meant that shares were owned by those who would buy the gas – in this case the City of London. This was a successful works but Croll’s eccentricities led to problems. It was eventually taken over by the Gas Light and Coke Company in 1870 and eventually partly rebuilt by them. Four gas holders appear on site in 1870 along with a large central retort house. It also shows buildings fronting Bow Common Lane, which may be those which remain along with what appears to be the original gateway and some holders to the rear. By 1914 three large holders has been added to the north of the site. It was modernised in the mid 1920s and closed in 1968. Numerous small businesses are based on this site.
Rail links to the gas works. Initially there was a tramway link to the Limehouse Cut. There was also a rail link to the North London line with two sidings on a timber viaduct serving a coal store – this was later replaced by concrete but remained in various forms into the 1960s.
Bow Railway Works
Bow Railway Works belonged to the North London Railway. The original works was in the area between the diverging tracks of the junction south of Bow Road from 1853. Originally there was a two-road erecting shop, plus smiths and boiler makers where company locomotives were serviced. The works was set up by Bow the Company's Engineer, William Adams Who was in post 1853- 1873. This early section was closed and demolished after the London and North West Railway took over the works after 1909.
Work here was at first the repair of rolling stock bought from outside, but from 1860 locomotives were built here. Between 1879 -1901, thirty tank engines designed by J.C.Park were built here. One of these remained in use until 1958. The final steam locomotive was built here in 1906.
The works was expanded from 1882. Doorway opposite Bow station led to new buildings, steps led to 'Bow Palace Yard' and a line side walk went from the Poplar-bound platform. By 1882 the works covered thirty-three acres, and stretched for three-quarters of a mile. It employed about 750 men.
Walkway. This ran on a bridge across the works between Campbell and Devons Roads, separated from the railway by brick walls.
South of the walkway were machine and carriage shops and stores. This area was expanded under the London Midland and Scottish Railway ownership as from 1925 a depot at Plaistow was closed. In the 1930s the Hudd automatic train warning system was developed and manufactured here and as a result a British Railways national team developed the standard Automatic Warning System here. In 1956 diesel-electric locomotives were repaired here.
The workshop was badly damaged in Second World War bombing and the wagon was workshop destroyed but work here continued into the late 1950s. It closed in 1960 with work transferred to Derby. The majority of the buildings were demolished around 1966.
The site is now mainly under a housing development from the 1970s with the tracks beneath encased in a concrete tunnel. The carriage shop was finally demolished in the late 1980s as part of works for the Docklands Light Railway.
65 Electric House. Built in 1925 by Harley Heckford, Poplar Borough Surveyor, as the Borough Electricity Showrooms and offices, plus some flats.
Minnie Lansbury Clock. Minnie was a suffragette and daughter in law of George Lansbury. She was an elected alderman on Poplar’s first Labour council in 1919 and was jailed in 1921 for refusing to set a rate. The clock was erected in the 1930s.
83 In the 1920s this was the Poplar District branch of the Charity Organisation Society and offices for the London County Council Children’s Care (School) Committee
97-99 Tredegar House. This was built as the Training Home for Pupil Probationers at the London Hospital in 1911 and designed by Rowland Plumbe. It was converted to flats by David Wood Architects.
109 in the 1920s this was Evans Hurndall Mission & Relief Work amongst the Poor of East London
117 Bow Road Police Station. This was built in 1912 to replace the old building which is further up the road to the east. From 1880 until 1933 Bow was the main station of the Division until re-organisation in 1933. It was designed by John Dixon Butler, the then Metropolitan Police Surveyor. Above the porch is inscribed 'POLICE' plus a date stone. Inside is a cell block with the original shuttered apertures for monitoring prisoners and which once housed Sylvia Pankhurst.
Rail Bridge. This carries the Bow Curve over Bow Road. This was opened by the London & Blackwall Extension Railway in 1849. It had been intended to build a junction with the Eastern Counties Railway and run trains from Fenchurch Street to Stratford. This bridge appears to have been rebuilt in 1907. Following the withdrawal of passenger services in 1949 the line was retained for diversions and electrified. It was reduced to a single track in the 1980s to allow space for the Docklands Light Railway north of the station.
121 Bow Road Station. This is now a betting shop and in addition two platforms and two stairways from the street remain. There is a commemorative plaque. Initially the station here was on the south side of the road but it was thought necessary to allow for a walkway connection with Bow Station which was on the North London Line at the site of what is now the Docklands Light Railway line. This was opened in 1892 and was a substantial building with stairways to the platforms. There was also a new signal box. Increased competition led to falling passenger numbers and the walkway was closed in 1917. In 1935 the signal box closed and in 1941 the station was closed following bombing. The station re-opened in 1946 but it closed a year later and it was partly upgraded. It reopened in 1947 with a greatly reduced service. It permanently closed in 1949. The station buildings were leased out and the platform building demolished in 1967.
121-143 Lepow Works. L Power & Sons Ltd. Power Neon Signs Ltd This Company used the station building 1964-1979. They were electrical engineers and made neon signs.
Wheel Works. This is marked behind the station in the 1870s and the site later used as a saw mill.
125 Little Driver. This pub may date from at least 1805 and the name relating to coach services and their drivers. When the railway opened in 1849 the name was adapted to the new mode of transport. It was rebuilt around 1869. It was a Charrington’s pub and retains some woodwork and a Hoare & Co.’s mirror on the wall plus flower painted mirror panels behind the bar-back and in the fire surround
127 -129 Bow Electric Theatre. This was owned by John Bussey and opened in 1909 and continued through the Great War until 1915. The site is now a filling station and supermarket.
131 -133 H C Banly Ltd, motor wagon builders. This firm was here in the 1920s but by the 1930s were selling second hand solid tyres.
135 Poplar Dispensary for the Prevention of Consumption. Present in the 1920s and often treating ex-soldiers. They also campaigned to give information about tuberculosis arranging exhibitions, sometimes accompanied by entertainment.
141 Bow & Bromley Local Labour Party offices in the 1920s. This was one of several addresses used by the Party – but this stands about halfway between George Lansbury’s home and Sylvia Pankhurst’s offices!
145 Bow Station. This was on the site of the Enterprise Garage. Some elements of the station wall may remain at the back of their forecourt. Bow Station opened in 1850 built by the East and West India Docks and Birmingham Junction Railway with an entrance on the north side of Bow Road. Initially built as a goods line only a passenger station here was provided when the line was extended to Islington. In 1869 it was rebuilt to include a large room upstairs for the Bow and Bromley Institute This was a large building by Edwin Home. From 1892 there was an interchange and a walkway to Bow Road Station on the Fenchurch Street line a few yards to the west. The station closed in 1944 following bombing but part of the building was used by British Railways as a parcels depot, until 1965 with a maroon 'Bow Parcels Depot' sign. The line was closed in the 1960s following changes in the area and in the docks. The site was cleared before the opening of the Docklands Light Railway in the 1980s when the old track bed was used for the new line. A plaque was put on the current building.
The Bow and Bromley Institute. This ‘Moorish style’ was added to Bow Station in 1870. The Bromley Literary Association and the Bow Working Men's Institute merged as the Bow and Bromley Institute, and in 1897 it part of the East London Technical College. It closed in 1911 and leased to the Salvation Army. 6,000 books were transferred to local libraries and the organ was sold to a place of worship. In the 1920s it was used by George Williams & Co Ltd, wholesale clothiers. In 1933 it became The Embassy Billiard Hall, then The Bow Palais and later The Emerald Ballroom. It was badly burnt out in 1956 and demolished.
Bow Road drinking fountain. This was the Match Tax Testimonial Fountain designed by Rowland Plumbe in 1872 and which stood on the Bow Station forecourt. This was tax on match boxes which was opposed and led to local demonstrations and the fountain was funded by Bryant and May. It was demolished in 1953 for widening Bow Road.
151-153 Office block. This is built on the site of what was the Poplar Conservative Party Office at 151 with the Bow & Bromley Constitutional Club inevitably next door with the same secretary in the 1920s. It has been recently used as a recording studio and has signage on it about a maths and computing school. It is also now the Sampson PLAB Academy which is a private training college for NHS posts.
Site of Bow Fair. This annual Whitsun Fair attracted large crowds in the 18th and 19th. In 1823 it was closed down due to "rowdyism and vice".
157 Bow House –this was once Poplar Town Hall. It was built 1937-8 by Clifford Culpin of E.G Culpin & Son. It had a streamlined bowed front and continuous bands of glazing. With carvings, mosaics, etched glass panels and a mural. five exterior panels by David Evans show trades and professions used in the building - socialist realist depictions: welder, carpenter, architect, labourer and stone mason. There is also a mosaic on the canopy above the former Councillors’ Entrance. There are also the Docks and industries, and Art, Science, Music and Literature on the fascia. Public use ceased in the 1980s and it was converted for commercial use in the early 1990s. In the lobby to the Chamber is a prayer of dedication by a Socialist Sunday pupil, originally in Bow Vestry Hall.
161 NatWest Bank Building, originally the London County Westminster & Parrs Bank Ltd. This was previously once offices for Recol or Ragosine Oil. This was founded by Victor Ivanovitch Ragosine who held patents for mineral oils which were used by the aircraft industry. In the 19th the Rectory, in a large garden, stood on this site.
161a Costcutter. This was built for the Stratford Co-op in 1919 by their Surveyor, H.E. Tufton. On the gable is their usual relief of a beehive.
163 This listed 18th building is now a kebab shop. In the 1930s it was Poulton, Selfe and Lee, a specialist laboratory glass blowing business. It had earlier been, in the 1890s, the Bow and Bromley Social and Literary Club and during the Great War the Anglo Mexican Petroleum Company.
167 Kings Arms. Dates from the 1820s or earlier. It closed in 2006. It may now be a backpacker’s hostel.
169 -175 In the 1920s this site comprised, Hudson’s who were refuse contractor. A printer William Gillard; 75 Fullman Barnett & Son who were builders merchants and David Williams a dairyman
177 Our Lady Refuge of Sinners and St Catherine of Siena. This is a Roman Catholic Church Designed by Gilbert Blount which opened in 1870. The parish is run by the Archdiocese of Westminster. It was administered until 1923 by Dominican nuns from the adjoining St Catherine's convent. It had been built as their chapel through the gift of Miss Reynolds, later Lady Hawkins. The church is in Kentish ragstone and was Enlarged in 1882 by A.E Purdie, and later partly rebuilt after war damage. The organ by Norman, Hill & Beard came from Holloway Prison.
181 This building and others to the rear were part of the Convent of St. Catherine. 181 itself, which is now a shop, was the Presbytery for the adjoining church. St Catherine’s Convent was set up by Dominican nuns in 1866 who had nought a building called Alfred House. They cane to work in a school in St. Agnes school, then in Arrow Road., When they left part of the building was turned into factory premises
181 Merron ltd. Simplex Works. This company made aircraft parts here during the Second World War, having specialised in moulded wood for boat hulls.
183 Durham and Moysey. This company was here in the 1890s and subsequently making ... Presses, Machines for Sheet Metal Working .... Patent Safety Power Press ..... Machines of all kinds
183 John Muir and Son leather tyre factory. This Ayrshire firm had a branch here in the early 20th to make the “shock- shifter " hub. To the rear is the Nunnery Studio Gallery set up in 1996 by the Bow Arts Trust and includes a studio complex. There is a focus on site-responsive work that explores the history and themes of the local area.
183 Bow Arts Trust building by Leaside Regeneration LTD Project. Building provided for the Trust on the street frontage.
185 Three Tuns. This pub was originally on Bow High Street by 1823 when it was owned by Hodgson’s Brewery. It was later a Whitbread pub and in 1985 enlarged and called Ye Olde Three Tuns. There was a wooden Last Supper over the bar. Three Tuns appear on the arms of the Brewers and Vintners Livery Company. In 1999 it closed and became flats.
193-197 This premises is now converted to flats called Link House.
193 Working Girls Club. This was set up by Annie Besant in 1891 and funded by Helena Blavatsky, Founder of the Theosophical Society, as a 'bright and pleasant home' for working class women from the East End of London. It was set up subsequent to the Match Girls Strike. A hall was added which was also used for lectures and public events. The site is now part of a block of residential buildings.
195-197 Salvation Army Hostel in the early 20th. As Archer House became Tower Hamlets Social Services Dept.
195 a Neo-Georgian shop front. Victorian works with wide piers faced in glazed brick six bays under gabled dormers.
199 This is a late 18th building which has recently been restored having previously been reconstructed in the early 20th and used as a print shop by an Arthur Tollfree
201-205 Garage. This was Grove Hall garage, which appears to have been used as a garage by the Metropolitan Police
203 & 205 Atlas Iron Foundry Durham Bros, iron founders. Numerous plates on iron buildings throughout London demonstrate their work,
207 - 209 Knowles Sheridan & Co Ltd, show card frame manufacturers. 'Show cards' told people about upcoming events. The site suffered significant bomb damage in the Second World War. By 1989 it was home to night club and is now flats.
215-217 This 1930s garage was built on the site of a 16th house recorded by the Royal Commission in the course of its demolition.
223 This appears to be the Green Light Youth Club and Green Light Kitchen. It is a late 17th building with a early 19th shop front
Anderson, Anderson & Anderson Ltd, India rubber goods manufacturers India rubber factory. This lay behind the buildings here before the 1930s.
Bow Church and associated buildings – the Church stands in an island between the north and south sides of Bow Road.
St Mary’s – Bow Church. In 1311 the Bishop of London licenced the building of a chapel because of the distance from the-Stepney parish church,. They were given land on the king's highway and thus a church was built on an island site. It remained a chapel of ease until 1719, when Bow became a parish in its own right. The oldest part is the rubble-stone aisle wall which may be 14th and there is a late 15th tower with a turret and clock. In 1555 Elizabeth Warren was burnt at the stake here for her Catholic views. Repair work was undertaken following storm damage in 1829 and in 1896 pioneering conservation work was undertaken by Hills & Son, supervised by members of Ashbee’s Guild of Handicraft who provided the metal-work. The committee also designed a new vestry. Much of the church including the upper portion of the tower was destroyed in air raids of 1940, and the rebuilding of the tower can be seen. Designs for repairing this damage were made by H.S. Goodhart Rendel. Inside are memorials of the Tower Hamlets Rifles Regiment, from St. Stephen's church. There is also a wooden battlefield cross from the Battle of Loos recording 13 men who died. There are memorials from the disused Holy Trinity Church, Bow and a memorial to 90 people from the parish who died in the Great War,
Churchyard. A small, trim churchyard, enlarged in 1824. It is enclosed by railings which were reinstated in 1984. It was designed as a public space in 1895 by Fanny Wilkinson of the Metropolitan Public Gardens Association and we some monuments and table top tombs remain in situ. planting at the front of the church includes some old evergreen shrubs and enormous plane trees
Statue of Gladstone. This is a bronze of 1881 by Albert Bruce Joy, commissioned by Theodore Bryant, the match manufacturer. Gladstone has stood above the public lavatories. And he is on a circular base holding out his hand as if addressing a meeting
Bow Brewery. Hodgson’s Brewery. George Hodgson had begun here in 1752 and one of the smaller London brewers. A major customer was the East India Company and Hodgson was still shipping porter out to India in 1823. October beer, which was a strong, pale, well-hopped brewed stock beer also shipped out and needed to be kept until it was two years old before it was fit to drink. It was also improved by the climate through which it had to pass. Pale ale, "light and excellent" was being sold in India alongside cider and London porter by 1784. By 1811 George Hodgson’s son Mark was running the brewery. Some 4,000 barrels were being shipped to the East every year. The brewery at Bow Bridge was rebuilt in 1821 and set themselves to ensure a monopoly on export to India of beer. This was opposed by other shippers who dealt with other brewers and brewers from Burton tried to replicate Bow beer and Hodgsons began to decline. In 1842 it was only the 25th largest brewery in London by consumption of malt, and by 1849 Edwin Abbott & Son, Pale Ale and Stout Brewers, had taken over the Bow Bridge brewery. In 1863 it became the Bow Brewery Co Ltd, and in 1869 it turned into Smith, Garrett & Co. themselves taken over by Taylor Walker of Limehouse in the 1920s. The Bow brewery was demolished in 1933 to make way for London County Council flats.
246 Bombay Grab. This pub was here by 1805 and was later the brewery tap for Hodgson’s Brewery. The pub name relates to a ship in the East India Marine. It was rebuilt in 1933 and owned by Ind Coope. After the flyover was built the pub had its name painted on its roof in white letters. It closed in 1992 and now houses a mosque and an Islamic community centre.
246 Bow Central Mosque. This was founded in 1998 in building which had been a local pub and vandalised. It has quickly been transformed into a community social and religious centre serving them through five-daily prayers and facilitating other socio-cultural activities.
242 In the 1880s this was ‘Ye Bowe Press’ – a printers
240 Bow Brass Works. Benjamin Rhodes & Son, brass foundry. This company was extant from at least the 1880s to the 1920s and made all sorts of brass items from plumbing items to gunnery. This site is now flats
214 White Horse, Pub which dated from the 1820s. This site is now flats
204 George J Betts & Co Ltd, harness and clog makers. This firm had a shop here in the early 20th. This site is now flats
202 East London Foundry. Hunter & English Ltd, engineers. The firm was set up in 1797 by two young Scots, Walter Hunter and William English, in 1803. Rennie commissioned then with framing a pair of large lock-gates for the East India Docks and as result were employed by dock engineer Ralph Walker. They also worked for Poplar Parish. In 1850 the partners were succeeded by their sons and eventually grandsons, achieving major contracts including marine engines and stationary pumping engines. They built engines for naval launches, dredgers, large cranes. The firm finally closed in 1921. The site is now flats
198 site of a baker's shop, where in October 1912 Sylvia Pankhurst opened the first East London branch of the Women's Social and Political Union. A gold sign on the front read: "Votes for Women" and Willie Lansbury got wood from the Lansbury wood factory for a platform outside from which Sylvia could make speeches. On the site are flats and a garden for Wilfred Housing Cooperative.
156 Three Cups Pub. This pub was present by 1826, becoming in 1855 Bow Palace Music Hall, and from 1889 Marlowe Music Hall and a hall to the rear where Sylvia Pankhurst spoke. It later became a Cinema in 1923.
156 Regal Cinema. This was built on the site of the Three Cups public house and later a music hall; it was rebuilt in 1892 as the Eastern Empire Theatre. taken over by the Macnaghten Vaudeville Circuit in 1899, and operated as the Palace Theatre until 1917, and the Tivoli Theatre until 1918. In 1923 it was rebuilt by George Coles and re-opened as the Bow Palace Cinema. It was rebuilt in 1935, in Art Deco style by Leslie Kemp & Frederick Tasker, with interior decoration by Mollo & Egan. It re-opened as the Regal Cinema,. It closed after bomb damage in the Second World War and re-opened in 1947. It closed in 1958 and was demolished in 1960. There are now flats on the site.
150 This was a Labour Committee rooms under George Lansbury. There are now new flats on the site
148 Black Swan Pub. This was on the corner of what had been the village green where there were stocks and a whipping post until the mid. The pub was here by 1822, probably owned by Hodgson’s Brewery. In 1916 it was destroyed by a bomb in a Zeppelin raid. It was rebuilt in 1920 and said to be haunted by the ghosts of the landlord’s two daughters who died in the air raid. It closed for road widening in the early 1970s. There are now new flats on the site
126 Bird in Hand Pub. This was recorded with a skittle ground by 1772 and owned by Truman’s. It was closed before 1991 and has since been demolished. There are now flats on the site
116 Police Station – Selbys. This was the original Bow police station, erected in 1863 and used until 1903, when it transferred to a new building .Sylvia Pankhurst aimed a stone at their window in 1913. It was designed by Charles Reeves, Surveyor to the Metropolitan Police.
Selby and Son, funeral directors. They originally on the corner of Bromley High Street, at the junction with Devon's Road, before they moved to the junction of Bow Road and Bromley High Street.
Tower Hamlets Register Offices, - Bromley Public Hall. This was built in 1879-80 by A. & C. Harston as the Vestry Hall for St Leonard's parish. It was on the site of the Bowry Almshouses. Wings were added in 1904 by R.E Atkinson
Bowry Almshouses. Mary Bowry ,widow of Captain Bowry of Marine Square, died in 1715 and left a bequest for almshouses to be built for 'poor men who must have been bred to be seamen and to their widows past labour'. They were demolished and the vestry hall was built on this site
114 Bow Bells Pub. This dates from the 1860s. It is said to be haunted.
Drapers Almshouses. What remains of the almshouses are now in private ownership hidden away among modern housing to the south with an address in Rainhill Road. Until the late 19th gates and a drive to them fronted on to Bow Road to the east of what is now the Docklands Light Railway – originally the North London Line, which company bought the site of the almshouses in 1867?
Bow Church Station. This was opened in 1987 and lies between Devons Road and Pudding Mill Lane on the Docklands Light Railway. The DLR here is built on the line of the old North London Railway.
Modern Building on the left hand side of Bow Church Station is on the site of an entrance to the North London Railway Works.
86 this house, now offices, was in use as a girls school. In 1880 the Coopers Company Girls' School moved here but the existence of the school was later questioned by the Charity Commission. The school was therefore merged with the Coburn School and this was reluctantly agreed. It was then renamed Coburn School for Girls, The school is now in Upminster.
Bow and Bromley Station, This was the earliest station on this site for this line. It was a wooden structure on the south side of Bow Road which opened 1849. It was built by the London and Blackwall Railway with two short facing platforms and a crossover. It closed in 1850
Bow Road Station. This was south of the road and built in 1875; on the site of the Bow & Bromley station which was still extant. It opened in 1876. the booking office was in the arch beneath the line with an entrance on the west side of the bridge and steps up to each platform. There was a small coal office on the east side of the bridge.
Signal box. This was the north side of the bridge on the up side.
72 The Cinema. This opened in 1915 and closed in 1916 operated by John Bussey. It stood next to the the south east side of the railway bridge. It is currently a mini cab office.
58-66 Thames Magistrates Court. With the juvenile court it was built in 1990, designed by Phillip Arrand, architect to the Metropolitan Police. It is the administration centre for the East Group of courts and deals with adult cases from Hackney, Tower Hamlets, Newham, and Waltham Forest Boroughs. It replaced a previous court building
Bow County Court. This was built on the same site as the current court in the 1860s designed by Charles Reeves
Bow Road Station. This opened in 1902 and lies between Bromley by Bow and Mile End Stations on the District and Hammersmith and City Lines. It was originally built on the Whitechapel & Bow Railway – in effect the District Railway - as part of their extension eastwards .It was to be called originally ‘Wellington Road’
Bromley High Street
This is the old centre of Bromley by Bow and leads into the village from Bow Road but little remains of the old village.
Village Green. This was at the junction with what is now Stroudley Walk. It was surrounded by inns and shops as well as stocks, ducking stool, an obelisk, and a whipping post into the mid 19th, In 1913 Sylvia Pankhurst began a local campaign with a speech here...
Bow Bridge Estate. This London County Council estate opened in 1933 and has been added to since. It fills the area between Bromley High Street and Bow Road and replaces numerous workplaces and old buildings.
36 John Dore's Coppersmiths and Distillery Engineers. They are the oldest distillery engineering business in the world. It began as Aeneas Coffey & Sons, of Dublin in 1830 and in London by 1835. John Dore took the company over in 1872 and moved the business here. In 1904 John Dore he invented a "Wash" Still which is still used by the industry. In the late 1960's council building led them to move to Essex and the business was sold. This site is now used by Dorrington Point Tower Block.
Robinsons & Co . This was an iron moulding company.
50-52 Moulders' Arms. This was demolished in 2007 and replaced by flats.
67 Blue Anchor Pub. Closed 2015
85 Tudor Lodge. With dance studios and a child care centre.
94 The Seven Stars. This was called the Seven Stars by 1681 and is shown in early prints of what was then called Bromley Broadway. It has been suggested that it was used by the Palace here by as domestic offices and outhouses. There is also evidence of a link to a Freemason's Lodge. In 1822 it was a Hodgson’s Brewery house. The original timber frame building was demolished in 1895 and rebuilt. By 1983, it was called the Pearly King, It closed around 1988 and has now been converted to flats
East London Foundry. This site south of the road appears to be part of the Hunter and English Works otherwise sited to the north between here and Bow Road. It may relate to Walter Hunter’s departure from the business in 1897.
Bow Tank Works. In the late 19th this was the works of Lancaster 7 Co. who seem also later to have been in Hancock Road.
Bow Foundry. Henry Edie and Co established in 1843, and still extant in the 1920s.. Made stink pipes among other things.
1 Bruce Road Congregational Church. This was founded in 1866 and in 1972 it became a United Reformed Church. It is closed and the building is now a community arts centre
1 Bromley by Bow Church in the Community. This consists of the old congregational church and a church hall. Linked to the Bromley by Bow Centre which stands to the rear and to which it is joined. It includes a nursery and a crèche and is also used as an arts centre. In the front of the building is a sculpture of a nun with her fingers in her ears. Inside are mosaics undertaken by people who have used the centre
34 John Bull Pub. Long since closed and demolished.
50- 60 site of house which where Doris and Muriel Lester rented a house, started a nursery school, and in 1912 were joined by their brother Kingsley, who died two years later. This laid the foundations for what became Kingsley Hall.
92 The Children's Nursery. This was established in 1912 and built by C. Cowles-Voysey for Muriel Lester in 1923 on the site of some stables. It was built as a nursery school plus accommodation for staff and was opened by HG Wells hoping to incorporate radical principle in child care. There is a sculpture over the main entrance of the Madonna and Child by Gilbert Bayes and inside is a mural by the artist and writer, Eve Garnet. A plaque on the building refers to its past. The building still functions as a nursery – although the web site mentions nothing about its past or founding principles.
Bruce Road United Methodist church. This 19th church appears to have been in place until the 1940s. A memorial to the dead of the Great War apparently survives from the church.
Rounton Park. A small local park with a walk way, benches, landscaped gardens, a children’s play area and trees.
Railway Bridge. This carries the District Line between Bromley by Bow and Bow Road stations. Here, beneath the road, was Campbell Road Junction. A building on the north west side of the road may or may not be an amenity building for the railway. There are businesses in the arches here.
Campbell Road Junction. This dated from 1897 and was intended to cure hold ups on the railway. It was a joint venture between the Metropolitan Railway (today’s District Line) and the London Tilbury and Southend Railway. It created the Whitechapel and Bow Line which diverged from the District Railway here,
Signal Box. This stood in the western fork of the junction – on an area between the two railway bridges in Rounton Road behind what is now a car wash. It dated from 1905 replacing a predecessor from 1902 to the east.
1 Gurdwara Sikh Sanghat. The site was purchased in 1977 and established in 1979. The congregation, originated from ten villages in Pakistan and arrived in England in the early 1950's, following partition. They came from particular the Bhart Sikh community. This has since expanded into another building in a nearby street.
68 Cherry Trees School. Very small primary school for boys.
102 Fairfoot Library. Built by Harley Heckford in the 1930s, it includes the Poplar coat of arms and a date plaque. The library closed in the early 21st and in 2002 Tower Hamlets Council sold it at auction. The developer who bought it acquired planning consent to convert it into flats and sold it again for a vastly increased price.
This road once skirted the southern walls of Tower Hamlets Cemetery but now is within the nature reserve area and is no longer a residential road. It runs westward from the railway and some businesses are located in railway arches here.
This was originally called Park Street until the 1870s
St.Andrew’s Hospital. This was the The Poplar and Stepney Sick Asylum which opened in 1871 south of the Stepney workhouse and built by the Metropolitan Asylums Board as a major hospital in this Sick Asylum District. It was designed by by A. Allarston with a pavilion plan which became a model for workhouse infirmaries. It included a water tower. A School of Nursing was established here in 1875 and a Nurses' Home in 1896. In 1920 it was renamed St Andrew's Hospital, after a local church destroyed in the Great War. In 1948 the Hospital joined the NHS. An Accident and Emergency Department opened in the 1980s in Devas Street but the hospital was gradually run down and finally emptied of patients in 2006 and the hospital was demolished. The site is now housing blocks.
Marner Primary School and Marner Children’s Centre. This was Marner Street School built in 1893 for the London School Board. It then stood in Marner Street which ran parallel and south of Devas Road and which disappeared in post-Second World War Developments. Te school had a war memorial to the dead of the Great War. It was severely damaged in Second World War bombing but survived and renamed Marner School in 1951. The school is currently undergoing some redesign and new buildings being added to the original.
Devons Road originally ran south westwards from Bruce Road to join its present route at a point east of the Campbell Road junction. At a point probably in the late 1960s this was changed and it was diverted to run south from Bruce Road on the line of what had been Brickfield Road and then at the junction with Devas Road to turn at right angles and run due west across what had been the railway motive power depot to join its original route east of Campobello Road. This stretch of road is elevated and acts as a bridge covering the area which was once railway sidings and then what is now the Docklands Light Railway line.
Devon’s Road Motive Power Depot. This is effectively the southern part of Bow Works Devons Road which ran as far as the Limehouse Cut. This part opened in 1882 and under steam days provided motive power for trains out of Broad Street. The entrance was at the south end of Brickfield Road. The depot was built under John Park, and had two sheds with coaling and watering facilities. In the 1930s one shed was demolished and concrete mechanical coaling plant built. . In 1934, it was transferred to the Midland Division, with 73 locomotives. The depot survived the war and in 1957 it became Britain's first all diesel depot. Bigger depots were later built and it was closed from 1964, and the work transferred to Stratford. It was eventually demolished,
Devons Road Goods Depot. This was opened by the LNER for coal traffic in 1874, and enlarged to handle freight in 1891. In 1916, it was bombed in a Zeppelin raid. Despite a large bomb crater, traffic was restored. It closed in 1964.
Devons Road Station. This opened in 1987 and lies between Langdon Park and Bow Church on the Docklands Light Railway. It is on what was the North London Line, at the far western edge of the Bow Railway Works.
75 Widows Son or Bun House Pub. There is said to have been a Bun House here in 1829 owned by a widow. Expecting her sailor soon home at Easter made some buns for him, and when he did not arrive, hung them up on the rafters and this has continued every year since. There is an annual ceremony every Good Friday performed by a sailor. The pub dates form 1840 and has been closed but is now reopened. It is said there are six squares & numbers on a stone in the cellar – and a Widow’s Son is a freemason.
105/117 Acme Studios. Started in two derelict shops as bases for artists
135 Lighthouse Baptist Church. A plain Baptist church built in 1895 by E. Holman. It began in the 1860s as Lighthouse Mission in Blackthorn Street. When the Lighthouse building was opened, it was used for Sunday School classes and as a base for young people until the Blackthorn Street chapel was destroyed in Second World War bombing.
224 Tenterden Arms. This was on the corner of Fern Street. It dated from 1869 and was a Truman’s house. It closed in 2007 and demolished in 2012 and replaced with a flats and a betting shop.
248b All Hallows Rectory. Built in the 1870s and now appears to be let as flats
Church Hall. Built alongside the Rectory and now apparently flats.
Britannia Rubber Works. Kampultican Works. This stood opposite All Hallows in the 19th and had been established in 1854.
Bow Triangle Business Centre. On the site of a small railway goods yard.
Crossrail ventilation shaft
Traveller residential site
Until the late 1960s the section of road running south from Devas Street to the right angle bend, was part of Brickfield Street. Earlier still, until 1879, Empson Street was called George Street and was residential.
1 Print Processes Litho Ltd. this firm has been on site here since at least the 1960s.
104 The Beehive pub. This pub dates from the 1840s – although the building looks more modern than that and it is not shown on maps until after the Second World War.
W. Lusty and Sons. Lloyd Loom. This firm was on the 17 acres of Russia Wharf and Saw Mills on the south side of the street. The Lloyd Loom process was invented in 1917 by an American, Marshall B. Lloyd, who twisted Kraft paper round a metal wire, placed the paper threads on a loom and wove them. William Lusty was a merchant who salvaged driftwood from London canals to make packing crates and who got the patent rights to the Lloyd Loom process and set up here. By the 1930s it was popular and successful. Production here ended following the bombing of the factory in the Second World War. The business was relaunched in 1951 but sales did not recover and the London factory was closed and the business moved to Worcestershire and in 1968 it stopped production. The site has been used for a variety of works since and is currently under development and for use as studios.
St Andrews church. This stood in what had been Brickfield Street and was destroyed in Second World War bombing.
Poplar Civic Theatre. This was the area to the rear of the old Town Hall which fronts partly on Fairfield Road. Before the Town Hall was built in the 1930s this was the site of a vestry hall.
2a Rectory for St.Mary’s Church. This is a mid-19th building on part of the site of an earlier house
70 Linc Centre. This is a low, informal advice centre of the 1990s. It is used by various groups, a nursery and so on from the Lincoln Hall estate
The Fern Street Settlement. This was opened by Clara Grant, who became head teacher at the infants' school in Devon's Road in 1900, and moved into a house in Fern Street. Clara was motivated by her Christian faith to address the poverty and deprivation here established Fern Street Settlement as a hub to improve the lives of families living in and around Bromley-by-Bow. The Fern Street Settlement has been working for the well-being of families here since 1907. Inspired by Canon Barnett at Toynbee Hall, Clara helped her school children with breakfast, clothes and boots. She collected toys and other bits and pieces and made them into little bundles, which were sold for a farthing. They were in great demand, and to manage the crowds of children she built a wooden arch on was written: 'Enter all ye children small, none can come who are too tall'.
Memorial plaque to Clara Grant
Samuel Berger & Co. Starch Works. Rice Starch blenders. This company dated from at least the 1830s. They were eventually taken over by Reckitt and Coleman and subsequently Unilever. They closed in 1969. The works was on or near the site of Grace Place.
Formerly Avenue Road. The name is to commemorate Rev Henry James Kitcat, rector of St Mary’s 1904 -1921 who was responsible for the building of the parish hall here.
St.Mary’s Parish Hall. This appears to be used by various social services work of Tower Hamlets Council. It no longer belongs to the church.
Exit doorway to the Great Eastern Railway Bow Station and a walkway between it and Bow Road Station. The door was said to exist in the 1980s but appears to have been removed during subsequent development.
Clara Grant School. Originally, this was All Hallows School and its Clara Grant was Head Teacher . The school was built on a different site in 1905 and is a London School Board building with a a formal three-decker front with a flat roofed playground and a separate nursery block. It was then called Devons School. It was renamed The Clara Grant Primary School in 1993 and there have been additions and alterations to the building since.
Bow School. This was built in 1913 by London County Council Architects Dept, replacing a school of 1876. There is also a schoolkeeper's house and a Performing Arts Centre built in 1995 by Robert Byron Architects. The school moved to a new site in Twevetrees Crescent and this site may become a primary school,
Kingsley Hall. The building was established as a Christian fellowship in 1915 by Doris and Muriel Lester, sisters from Loughton. They bought the Zion Chapel on the corner of Botolph and Eagling Roads and named it Kingsley Hall in memory of their brother. It dates from 1926-8 designed by C Cowles-Voysey. Inside is a ground-floor hall and chapel with recreation rooms above ad rooms for residential workers. Responsibilities were shared on the model of an ashram, following Muriel Lester's visit to Gandhi at Ahmedabad. . After the Second World War the building was used by R.D.Laing as a psychiatric unit and the patients destroyed much of the interior. Doris Lester died in 1965 and Muriel Lester in 1968. The hall was later restored and is now a community centre. David Ricardo, economist, grew up there.
Plaque to Gandhi. He stayed here for six weeks during 1931 when he attended the Round Table Conference at St James's Palace, for negotiations for Indian independence. His room here is kept as a memorial.
Peace Garden. This opened in 1985 and for the Lester sisters working for peace was a very important part of their lives. There was once a small sculpture by Gilbert Bayes, donated by A.A. Milne. There is an has an abstract metal sculpture in the peace garden
The railway infrastructure of this area and its history is – to put it at a minimal – detailed and confusing.
Fenchurch Street Line. Main line trains run through the area, passiug through Bromley by Bow Station (which is in the square to the east, but the line runs westward of this) this was built in two parts either side of Gas Factory Junction (which is near the Bow Triangle Business Centre. It originated from 1849 train services which ran on what was called the London and Blackwall Extension Railway from Fenchurch Street to Gas Factory Junction where it curved north and went to a station on Bow Road called Bow and Bromley. In the 1850s there were changes to services and eventually a line was added from Barking to Gas Factory Junction in 1856. The line was operated by the Great Eastern Railway until 1921 when it was operated by the London and North Eastern Railway and it is often referred to by the initials of these companies until nationalisation. A station called Bow Road was built on the line on the north side of Bow Road. On the south side of Bow Road were a station called Bow and Bromley and another Bow Road. No station now exists at either location.
The District Line. This also passes through the area stopping at Bow Road Station on Bow Road and then on to Bromley by Bow Station (in the square to the east). Although these are now ‘underground’ stations, the line was not seen, when built, as anything different to the other surrounding lines bad – as were other lines – was set up by a consortium of railway companies. In 1897 The Whitechapel and Bow Railway was promoted – and seen as a way to relieve pressure on Whitechapel bad Fenchurch Street Stations. It ran from Whitechapel to Bow Road and met the London and Tilbury Fenchurch Street line (above) at a junction now under Campbell Road. The stations were built to be able to take London & Tilbury trains. It opened in 1902 and was managed by the District Railway. Trains ran through to East Ham and it was electrified soon after. A new signalling scheme was set up in the 1920s. In 1933 the District came under the control of the London Passenger Transport Board – and hence ceased to be part of the railway network and there were moves to isolate ‘underground’ lines from ‘railway’ lines in areas, like this, where lines were shared,. There have been numerous changes in management since, but the stretch of line between Bromley by Bow Station and Campbell Road junction is still shared.
Docklands Light Railway. This runs mainly on the line of what was built as the East and West India Docks and Birmingham Junction Railway. It was conceived as a coal carrying line bringing coal from the docks up into north London and beyond. In 1850 it was connected to Bow Junction where it joined the line into Fenchurch Street and was finally finished down into the docks in 1852. By then it was taking passengers and stations were thus provided one of which was Bow Station on Bow Road. The North London Railway’s massive Bow Works was built alongside the line in this area south of Bow Road.
This is the main road within the Crossway Estate built from 1970 by London County Council housing. It was built on the site of part of the Bow locomotive works with three twenty-five- storey towers constructed while the tracks were still in use. Rainhill – referring to the Rainhill Trials in 1829 has a railway connection for building on the site of the railway works. This is also reflected in the names of the tower blocks – Mallard Point, Hackworth Point.
St. Agnes Catholic Primary School. In 1865 the school was opened on this site in what was then Arrow Road with the Dominican Sisters teaching here. The infants remained in a building in the Convent grounds in Bow Road. In the Second World War, the school was bombed. In 1951, the school was re-organised as a Junior Mixed and Infant School on the present site. A nursery class was opened in 1956.
Prospect Park. The site of the park was previously part of the railway yard – an area of sidings running north east from the engine sheds near the Limehouse Cut.. Three pieces of masonry found during construction have been retained. These stones were found in a pile in the railway yard and are on end as small parallel pillars. One stone shows a winged angel which might have come from St Andrew's Church which once stood near here. The park was laid out in 1995 and has a children’s play area, and a nature reserve.
20 Old Duke of Cambridge. Pub which closed in 2013
Saint Andrew’s Way
This road is going through an area once in the railway works. It consists of a series of trading estates and buildings
St Andrews house. London Ambulance Service. This dates from 1998 with a curved tower; three metal-clad floors above a tall grey brick service basement. It is one of three such centres for the service in London
This is the old main road which ran from Bow to the Docks and the river. It now follows the route of the Tunnel Approach Road, built in ways to replace it. It eventually peters out to the south in a miserable path between the motorway and modern blocks of flats.
Nunnery of St Leonard. This was a Benedictine foundation from at least 1122 and perhaps a pre-Conquest foundation. It was founded by William, Bishop of London, for a prioress and nine nuns. Henry VIII gave it to Sir Ralph Sadler, who converted it into a house. In 1635 the then Lord of the Manor, Sir John Jacob, demolished it and built a new house there, on the site. This stood east between the churchyard and Priory Street. At the end of the 18th it was a private boarding school for boys, Bromley School or Bromley Manor House Academy. It was demolished early in the 19th
St.Leonard’s church. This dated from 1842 and was a replacement of a 12th used as the nunnery church and adapted for the parish in 1835. It was demolished in 1842. The Chancel was one of the few Saxon buildings left in London and retained Saxon artefacts and Norman features. All that is left is part of the boundary wall. It was destroyed by bombing and the construction of the Blackwall Tunnel northern approach road.
Churchyard. This contains the remnants of St Leonard's Church and is entered through a stone archway of 1894. Huguenot refugees in the 17th and 18th built their tombs in the churchyard. Much of the site passed out of ecclesiastical control by 1819 and was used for housing. It was closed for burials in January 1856. When the Blackwall Tunnel Approach underpass was built in 1969 many remains were re-interred in the East London Cemetery. Some of the area was a children's playground in the 1990s
Memorial Gate. This was erected in 1894 as a memorial to the Rev G A How, vicar 1872-93.
Dye House. This stood near the church in the 18th and Dyers Row ran south of the graveyard,
The Old Palace. This was a house which stood here 1606 - 1894. It was said to have been a hunting lodge built by James I and his arms were displayed inside. It later became Palace House School. In 1893 it was acquired by the School Board for London as a site for a school. Its demolition led to protests headed by the architect C.R. Ashbee and as a result some relics were preserved and some plaster panelling is in The Victoria & Albert Museum.
Old Palace Primary School. This replaced a board school of 1894 which was destroyed in the Second World War. It was designed in 1952 by Cecil C. Handisyde in the Festival of Britain tradition. In the playground is a sculpture: 'No' which is a bronze boy wrestling a cat, by Bainbridge Copnall. On a wall is a memorial plaque to the 36 firemen killed during the Second World War when it was head quarters of the local rescue services.
37 Mahee Court. This was once the Priory Tavern, now flats
Arch. This forms the entrance to the Bromley by Bow Centre. It is an 18th structure designed by William Kent which came from Northumberland House, near the Embankment. It became the entrance to the garden of Tudor House, now Bob's Park. It was moved here in 1998.
Bromley by Bow Centre. Designed by Gordon MacLaren of Wyatt MacLaren. This developed gradually following the appointment of anew minister in 1984 around the Congregational Church, sited in Bruce Road where the older church hall remains. Between the two buildings is a planted courtyard. The church interior was remodelled in 1991-2 to provide a central worship area the church hall was subdivided, with classrooms on the upper floor.
Healthy Living Centre. This was built on land taken from the park in 1995 and is a curved building in vivid orange brick designed by Wyatt MacLaren in 1997. It houses a doctors' practice and other services and grew out of the community work undertaken initially from the Congregational Church. There is a covered link to the church which runs beside a small landscaped courtyard including a sculpture: the Passenger, by Paula Haughney commissioned to remember the life of Lord Ennals.
Bromley-By-Bow Centre Gardens. This is the Paradise Gardens, with potted plants and mosaics plus a courtyard with a pergola and pool.
Tudor House. This was an early 17th house latterly occupied by George Gammon Rutty who added an archway, two stone statues and a ship's figurehead.
Bob's Park. This was a Recreation Ground laid out by the London County Council in 1900 on the site of Tudor House. In the early 21st it was bought by the Bromley by Bow Centre and redesigned. It is named after Robert Greenfield, the onetime park keeper. A path meanders through the park like a stream and has set into it blue glass squares with pictures of animals or flora that live in water. There is a children’s play area with a scaled serpent or dragon with a trough down it's back designed to fill with water after rain. There are allotment beds accessible to the disabled and ceramic pathways. There is a seat in the shape of a large smiling animal; another is in the shape of a bird. There is also a War Memorial obelisk with a wreath and there is a cafe, Pie in the Sky, 2002: by Wyatt MacLaren
Stepney Union Workhouse. This was opened in 1861 south of what is now Talwin Street. It was designed by Henry Jarvis for 800 inmates as a grand building with a south facing frontage with a tower. There were additional works along the boundary with the railway to prevent escapees from using that route. The buildings were badly damaged in Second World War bombing and the surviving parts used for homeless families. It was demolished in 1966.
St Leonard’s Schools. These stood on the south corner of what is now Talwin Street. There was a national school here before 1841. It is later shown as a Sunday School and post Second World War has become an upholstery works. The site is now flats.
50 The Imperial Crown. This pub dated from before 1841. It was a Taylor Walker Brewery house with tiled brewery signage on the Talwin Street wall. It closed in 2003 and is now flats.
Stroudley Walk. This was named for the locomotive engineer William Stroudley. This area was to be the centrepiece of a new estate, with shops and a market and brick arches were built with flats above. None of this worked.
Warren House tower block built on the site of Bromley's former police station.
8 Rose and Crown Pub. This pub dates from the 1720s when it was the Bowling Green Inn. It was rebuilt in the late 19th and renamed. It was a Taylor Walker house. It closed in 2007 and is now a shop.
Obelisk. Outside the pub stood a horse trough and drinking fountain surmounted by an ornate gas lamp, locally referred to as the Obelisk.
32-40 Stroudley Walk Health Centre This community health hub is a relatively recent initiative, open for clinics and advice for 12 hours every weekday
31 Streets of Growth "A social enterprise charity specialising in engaging youth and young adults away from educational and career drop-out
This was once called Love Lane.
24 Queen Mary Nursery. Built to the rear of what was Bow Common Methodist Church in Devons Road in 1937 by S.P Dales, founded as part of a Methodist mission and school established as its East-End Mission in 1885, to combat poverty and squalor with evangelism and social work. It was badly damaged in the first night of the 1940 blitz. There is a carved brick relief of a figure with two children high up. It is now in the ownership of the local authority – possibly since 1971. It was apparently closed in 2016.
Bromley Picture Palace. This was a cinema in the conversion of a former Methodist school-room by the architectural firm Moffatt & Dearing and which opened in 1910. It later became the Tidey Street Picture Palace, and in 1919, it was re-named Whitehorn Cinema. It closed in 1930 following a licencing problems and never re-opened. The Queen Mary Nursery now operates from the site.
The Kinematograph Theatre. This was probably a shop conversion, in 1909 which closed in 1910 when the Cinematograph Licencing Act became law.
This follows the railway line and is built on the line of what once were sidings from the Bow Road Goods Depot.
Electric substation. This was built by Poplar Council pre-1930 and has their coat of arms on it. Called the pumphouse it was disused for 30 years and has since been converted to housing.
Tower Hamlets Cemetery
Only the eastern third of the cemetery is in this square, the rest is in the square to the west.
Round Glade. Now with a Habi-Sabi Bat Roost
Lime Tree Walk
Hurricane Woods. This area was badly affected by the winds in the 1987 storm. A plantation of tall plane trees was blown down.
Dissenters’ chapel in what is now called Hurricane Woods. Designed by Wyatt and Brandon, this has an octagonal form, and is in the Byzantine style. Underneath are extensive catacombs,
Holly Walk with Poplar War Memorial
Memorial to Victims of Second World War Air Raids in Poplar. This is in the Holly Wood area. It is a simple curved brick structure erected in 1952. The brickwork is topped with concrete and there is a flower bed at the base.
Cantrell Glade Entrance
New flats and roadway on the line of the walkway which once ran over the Bow Railway Works.
Ventilation Shaft. This brick structure, looks like a chimney but is a sewer ventilation shaft from the late 19th
Wellington Buildings. These were built to rehouse those made homeless by the District Line construction.
Wellington Way Centre. Built as a maternity clinic in 1927.
Wellington Primary School. This was opened as an open air school in 1928 by the London County Council.
13 Open House, this is currently the Mind Centre. The dairy signage outside remains.
Model Farm dairy. This dated from 1890 with a cow shed to the rear. It swas owned by a Reuben Alexander
Francis Mary Buss House. The dairy was bought by the North London Collegian School in 1926 to commemorate 100 years since Frances Mary Buss’ birth and wass converted for social services and a ‘settlement’ by the school and club premises for local people as Frances Mary Buss House. The cowshed was turned into a library. It closed in 1967 and was leased to other organizations.
William Guy Gardens
William Guy Gardens is a development of council houses on the approximate site of Bromley Workhouse
Ian Mikardo School. special school for boys aged 11-16, who have been deemed unteachable. It moved here in 2011 from a site in Weavers Fields. Ian Mikardo was the long term MP for the area.
Bow Arts. Web site
Bow Central Mosque. Web site
Bow Church. Web site
Brewery History Society
British History Online. Bow. Web site
Children’s House Nursery. Web site
Clara Grant School. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
Connor. Fenchurch Street to Barking.
Day. London Underground
Diamond Geezer. Web site
Disused Stations. Web site
East London History Society. Newsletter
Fern Street Settlement. Web site
Friends of the Earth. London Gas Works site
Friends of Tower Hamlets Cemetery. Web site
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Greater London Council .Home sweet Home
Historic England. Web site
Horne. The District Line
Ian Mikardo School. Web site
Lighthouse Church. Web site
London Borough of Tower Hamlets. Web site
London Footprints. Web site
London Railway Record
London Travellers. Web site
Lost Hospitals of London. Web site
Lost Pubs. Web site
MIND. Web site
North London Collegiate School. Web site
Our Lady and Catherine of Siena. Web site
Pevsner and Cherry, East London
Pub History. Web site
Robins. North London Line,
Stewart. Gas Works of the North Thames area
Taking Stock. Web site
Tower Habitats. Web site
Welch. The London, Tilbury and Southend Railway
Wikipedia Web sites
Workhouses. Web site
Posted by M at 09:31